Magazineline Homepage
Discount Magazines Make a Great Gift - MagazineLine
Customer Service
About MagazineLine


Harper's Magazine

Stimulating writing by today's best observers and interpreters of what's happening in the world.

1 Year, 12 Issues
Our Price: $16.97
BuyBuy as Gift

All customer reviews for Harper's Magazine



Average Customer Rating:

4 Star Rating
Write a ReviewGo Back



5 Star ReviewHarpers
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 17, 2014
Submitted by: Andy from Statesboro, Ga

A good magazine.



4 Star ReviewThought Provoking, Interesting Variety
A review of Harper's Magazine, June 19, 2014
Submitted by: jaberejo



5 Star Reviewmakes me feel smart, edgy, cultured, and liberal!
A review of Harper's Magazine, May 8, 2014
Submitted by: julie

The title pretty much says it, because the articles always interest me.  They are things that I know about, but I don't know much about, so they expand and enlighten me.



4 Star ReviewInteresting story variety
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 27, 2014
Submitted by: none

I'm enjoying the variety of genre & subject matter.



3 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 24, 2014
Submitted by: libra

I never heard of this magazine but I am finding it interesting to read.



2 Star ReviewNot What I Was Expecting
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 24, 2014
Submitted by: grandma



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, March 6, 2014
Submitted by: Oscar

I had been a regular reader of Harper's many years ago. It's good to be back with it.



2 Star Reviewokay
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 20, 2014
Submitted by: ajmk

Some engaging articles, but mostly too serious for my taste.



4 Star ReviewGood reading
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 20, 2014
Submitted by: grandy

Harpers gave me a couple of hours of good reading, and many hours of reflection as I made connections to what I read and things that were happening in the real world. Money well spent.



4 Star ReviewLiking it!
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 23, 2013
Submitted by: J-man



5 Star ReviewRefreshing: poetry, fiction, and longer nonfiction - truly counter to most magazines
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 17, 2013
Submitted by: kouloukis from Salt Lake City, UT

With the varried forms of writing and the most interesting writers of our time you can't lose with Harper's. It's always brightens my day when I find an issue in my mailbox.



5 Star ReviewHarper's
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 26, 2013
Submitted by: Mary from Scottsdale, AZ

This is some of the best writing and thinking I have read.  Thank you.



5 Star ReviewAlways a great magazine!
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 21, 2013
Submitted by: lisa

Always a great magazine - I look forward to the writing and the art every month.



4 Star ReviewThe stories are very good.
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 18, 2013
Submitted by: Del from Jacksonville, NC

I have always wanted a magazine that has stories in it due to having no time to read a full book.



5 Star ReviewGreat Articles, Few Ads
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 10, 2013
Submitted by: a reader

The magazine is wonderful, it has wonderful feature length articles on a wide variety of topics and few advertisements. My college age daughter said, "we need to always get this magazine, it has some substance not just a few items so they can sell ads."



5 Star ReviewGood read
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 29, 2013
Submitted by: Gaiak6 from Takoma Park, MD

My husband has been reading this magazine for years and he likes the writing and the topics. I gave him the subscription as a gift. He is very hapy with this magazine.



4 Star ReviewA Good Read
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 8, 2013
Submitted by: Mendi from Austin, TX

I admit that I was expecting something more organized and broadly focused on history and the arts, but that does not mean I do not like the content.  It is a great magazine. 



4 Star ReviewWell written and entertaining
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 8, 2013
Submitted by: Badger Fan from Little Canada, Mn

I have enjoyed my subscription to Harpers thus far. The content has been interesting and informative.



5 Star ReviewSo much to think about!
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 8, 2013
Submitted by: nmg

I had forgotten how broadly interesting this magazine is.



4 Star ReviewLiteracy, yeah!
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 18, 2013
Submitted by: Mel from Reno, NV

It's been a long time since I've read Harper's.  It's good to have it back in my life.



5 Star ReviewWonderful food for the mind!
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 18, 2013
Submitted by: Wolana Phoenixfyre from KIlmanrock, VA

What I most enjoy about Harper's is the way it continually stretches my brain: aerobics of thought and processing!

A lengthy essay on the "failures" of modern poets had me going back and rereading poets I'd not even thought about-- and me a retired English teacher!

Current political and social issues join book reviews, excerpts from current fiction and non-fiction, and wonderful stories that avoid the "I'm so intellectual you won't understand what I write" that annoys me about so much of contemporary fiction.

This is one subscription I will most definitely keep renewing.



5 Star ReviewProbably one of the best magazines I've ever read
A review of Harper's Magazine, May 2, 2013
Submitted by: bborder

I have subscriptions to New Yorker and Atlantic and Harper's is on par with both of them. I'm actually excited (over a magazine mind you) when I see a new issue in my mailbox.  I can't say enough for the way that magazine has changed my life.



4 Star ReviewIn Depth Thought
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 28, 2013
Submitted by: Janice from Portland, OR

When I recieved the first magazine, I put it aside as the articles looked long, and I was busy.  The second issue I received had an article on beef slaughter houses which caught my attention as I eat a vegan diet. I thought the piece was very well done even though Mr. Conover did not give up meat in his diet, so I started reading other articles and liked their depth.  I have read almost all of both issues and am looking forward to more. I especially like the interesting Harper Index and Findings. I'll look for them first.



4 Star ReviewUnique and interesting
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 25, 2013
Submitted by: cookie

Articles are varied and interesting. Authorship of most articles among the best I've seen in many magazines. Thank you.



1 Star ReviewAvoid this Publication
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 25, 2013
Submitted by: gunther from Eastsound, WA

I've tried to be open-minded about East Coast publications, but like the New Yorker, Harpers is full of depressing, painful, downer articles.  I'll not be renewing this morbid magizine.



2 Star ReviewOK magazine
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 25, 2013
Submitted by: ckai

informative about a variety of topics - would not subscribe again however - would prefer something more interesting more female oriented.



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 31, 2013
Submitted by: rtampa

Very informative. An excellent read on a variety of topics.



5 Star ReviewGreat writing
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 17, 2013
Submitted by: Grrrr

The writing is great and informative. The ads are a little odd, but the quality of writing and information is fantastic.



1 Star ReviewTechnical
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 27, 2012
Submitted by: hawkfff from clinton twp, mi

The magazine is overly technical. Not what I was looking for in a magazine.



4 Star ReviewI am enjoying my magazine very much. thank you
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 8, 2012
Submitted by: Kayla from miami, fl



2 Star ReviewNot so good...
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: Bpi328 from Traverse City, MI

I'm not overly impressed.



5 Star ReviewThis is a very high quality magazine.
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: Nobby from Seattle, WA

Deals with important and global issues.



5 Star ReviewThoughtful, provocative, intriguing
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: Joel from Eugene, OR

Years ago, during Lewis Lapham's editorship, I loved Harpers. Then, when Mr. Lapham retired, the magazine changed in a way that I couldn't follow, too abstract, too intellectual. Whatever transitional difficulties the magazine went through are apparently over. The writing is again intelligent, grounded, funny, and real. I'm enjoying coming back to Harpers.



5 Star ReviewGreat!
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: black_cat_1966

Stimulating writing!



5 Star ReviewAwesome!
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 9, 2012
Submitted by: W

Simple: FANTASTIC!!!!!!



1 Star Reviewnot my topics
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 8, 2012
Submitted by: Pat from danbury, ct



5 Star ReviewSuperb magazine.
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 8, 2012
Submitted by: Nick

Harper's has great writers with articles that make me want to share with people I know every single issue!  I am a teacher and also copy and use articles in class to get students a broader image of the issues we face today.



3 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 21, 2012
Submitted by: gabrielle from Pillager, MN

I enjoy the articles- it gave me new insight that the news doesn't.



4 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 18, 2012
Submitted by: Lulu

Enjoy the articles.. They are thoughtful.



2 Star ReviewDoesn't keep my interest
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 11, 2012
Submitted by: SC from Darien, IL



4 Star ReviewIf your intellect is hungry this is one of the best magazine's to feed it.
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 4, 2012
Submitted by: Roz from Pensacola, FL

I like the objective analysis mixed with the subjective reviews of world events.



5 Star ReviewHarper's Creates Dissonance...
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 4, 2012
Submitted by: Max

...which I love.  I like my viewpoint to be challenged and many of the articles in Harper's does just that.



5 Star ReviewGreat Writing, Great Reading!
A review of Harper's Magazine, September 25, 2012
Submitted by: KY Girl

Harper's has great, informative articles.  They make me think about the world around me.



5 Star ReviewGreat Reading!
A review of Harper's Magazine, September 6, 2012
Submitted by: Jess from Anaconda, MT

This magazine provides a variety of reading material that both entertains and enlightens.  I read it,  virtually, from cover to cover.



3 Star ReviewNOT-SO-HIDDEN AGENDA OBVIOUS
A review of Harper's Magazine, September 6, 2012
Submitted by: nambia from So Burlington, VT

In issues of environment I consider myself fairly liberal. That's why I found very helpful an article about the plains states depending for their agricultural production on rapidly depleting their only water source, the Ogalla aquifer. This explained succinctly how when the water table is siphoned off to 30 feel below the surface it's "game over" for current unsustainable commercial agricultue, how, like it or not, the entire region will have to come up with a plan B, whether that be low intensity perennial agriculture, or a polarity shift to mega wind farming. On the other hand, I don't consider myself a knee-jerk political liberal, such as apparently Harper's hires to write its articles. Returning to Harper's after a long lapse, I suspected that the pre election coverage of the article on Mitt Romney was altogether unflattering and polemical by design, that it reflected an editorial agenda. Then when I read a corresponding pre-election article on the "blue" candidate Obama in which the reporter trailed him in his speaking and fundraising and was in awe of the couple of million he could raise daily, it took me a while to discover whether there was might be a hidden agenda. My question was finally answered in the last paragraph when the reporter said she that although she didn't believe much of what Obama was saying or promising, she couldn't help like him anyway!! I used to subscribe 20 years back to Harper's, which has been in existence for over a century. It's become much much smaller, no doubt to cut costs. I can accept that downsizing. I, however, cannot accept a not-so-hidden political agenda which is increasingly apparent as the election heats up.



1 Star ReviewTerrible!
A review of Harper's Magazine, September 4, 2012
Submitted by: Quack

I'd give it 0 stars if I could!



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 17, 2012
Submitted by: Adrianne

I love reading all of the articles and excerpts.



4 Star ReviewGreat Literary Mag
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 16, 2012
Submitted by: mefilmgal

Pleasantly surprised with this literary mag that chooses the best from a variety of genres of writing.



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 16, 2012
Submitted by: anonymous

Great!



5 Star ReviewA Good Magazine for Older Folks - (I'll be 83 next April.)H
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 10, 2012
Submitted by: Gramma Kay



4 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 10, 2012
Submitted by: Steph from Walla Walla, WA

Always good articles about unexpected topics.  I read it cover to cover.



5 Star ReviewHarper's is outstanding for personal knowledge & to bring issues to the classroom!
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 26, 2012
Submitted by: Love2teach from PA

Whay did I wait so long to subscribe?! Teachers across the content areas would love this magazine. From social studies, to statistics, to English classes. this magazine is outstanding!



5 Star ReviewGood for many issues and reads
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 10, 2012
Submitted by: untamed1961 from Rhodhiss, NC

<amy interesting issues and very good reads on issure important fo us all



4 Star ReviewVery unique articles
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 29, 2012
Submitted by: Frenchy from Findlay, OH

I usually don't read entire articles in many magazines, but to my surprise Harper's had some very unusual articles in the April 2012 issue that really held my interest.  They weren't  too intellectual and not too generic either.  I especially liked the article about private security companies in Iraq & Afganistan (The Warrior Class)...very informative and relevant.  I also appreciated the cute humorous page w/unusual trivia: "Findings" and "Harper's Index" had stats covering many topics.



5 Star ReviewMental and literary fitness: Roberto Bolano: I can't read.
A review of Harper's Magazine, March 27, 2012
Submitted by: lector from San Benito,, TX

I have enjoyed Harper for years; glad to have rec'd it once more. 



5 Star ReviewEnjoyable and thought provoking
A review of Harper's Magazine, March 13, 2012
Submitted by: andy

always a good read. love the index.



5 Star ReviewHarpers
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 28, 2012
Submitted by: Fermat from Somerville, MA

I have access to all their current and past issues on my Ipad. It is interesting reading articles from the Civil War Era. Their format has not changed much is the last 100 years.



5 Star ReviewThis is a great litary magazine
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 14, 2012
Submitted by: Harper

The magazine is full of great essay and literature.



3 Star ReviewHarpers
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 31, 2012
Submitted by: erinnmags

it is a good magazine - lots of interesting editorials, etc.



4 Star ReviewBest Info
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 25, 2012
Submitted by: Avid Reader

I really enjoy the articles and the great info in Harper's. Thank you!



3 Star ReviewIt's an ok magazine as far as variety of subject.
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 24, 2012
Submitted by: none from Sanford, NC

I use to get a lot of magazines and would continue subscriptions, but lately, with the computer and a lot of other things going on in life, I do not get magazines.    So  many magazines have a lot of advertising and not enough interesting material to learn or read.This is just my thoughts and I could be wrong.

Thank you.
Virginia B.



3 Star ReviewIt's OK!
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 24, 2012
Submitted by: imacfrog

Not quite what I expect but it is OK. I'll not  be renewing subscription.



5 Star ReviewGreat articles
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 17, 2012
Submitted by: Matt from Tucson, AZ

Timely, good articles that get beyond the mass media blackout of good stories and ideas.



5 Star Reviewgreat magazine great articles
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 22, 2011
Submitted by: dglana

You will enjoy reading this magazine if you enjoy well written articles.



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 21, 2011
Submitted by: Homer from Fort Wayne, IN

I am enjoying Harper's magazine.  Good articles on current topics and some good fiction have kept my interest.



4 Star ReviewGood stories!!
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 13, 2011
Submitted by: WS

Enjoying!



5 Star ReviewA magazine of interest
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 13, 2011
Submitted by: p from west chester, oh

Very interesting articles are found in this magazine.



1 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 6, 2011
Submitted by: GHD

Boooorrrrring.  I think the authors like to hear themselves write.  They obviously are not writing for us commoners. 



5 Star Reviewan AWESOME magazine
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 29, 2011
Submitted by: LEFTY from Laredo, Tx

The articles I have read have increased my knowledge on things I did not the concept of. My have shown a great increase in my vocabulary. The illustrations and photo essays are awesome. Keep up your awesome publishing.



4 Star ReviewI love reading well-written and fascinating opinions.
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 26, 2011
Submitted by: Penny

Harper's contains articles on ideas and issues I haven't even thought about.  I enjoy reading it.



5 Star ReviewGreat Articles Quirky Facts
A review of Harper's Magazine, June 16, 2011
Submitted by: Anna from Attleboro, MA

Harpers has great, in-depth articles on issues that are relevant.  Their tone is just right.  I am also addicted to Harpers Index.



4 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 19, 2011
Submitted by: gt from Pierce, Ne

very good.   Interesting stories



1 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, March 15, 2011
Submitted by: Andrea from Salem, MA

Rather boring magazine. I would never renew it.



2 Star ReviewIt's just OK
A review of Harper's Magazine, March 7, 2011
Submitted by: Charlie

It was not what I expected.



3 Star ReviewThis magazine is a very intellectual a bit over my head I'm afraid
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 22, 2011
Submitted by: Gil from Pompano Beach, Fl

I find the magazine's format confusing. I don't understand the content as well as I thought I would. I find it difficult to read and I am a college grad and consider myself well read. Maybe I'm to use to reading "The New Yorker, "Vanity Fare" and "Newsweek" I will however give the magazine a chance and try harder to get into the articles



5 Star ReviewStill a leader in the field
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 15, 2011
Submitted by: akteach from Fairbanks, AK

Having been exposed to Harper's at a young age, 50 years ago, the magazine structure may have changed, but its direction has not. Good articles and writers continue to make Harper's a Harper.  I had to do research in college and used the Harper's Weekly as part of my background material.  Enjoyable then and now.



3 Star ReviewEducational, but lengthy
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 8, 2011
Submitted by: J Car

I enjoy reading Harper's, but sometimes the articles are too lengthy in that they include extra information that is not always relevant to the article.



4 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 24, 2011
Submitted by: Kay from va

I had never read Harper's.  I must say I'm quite impressed with the quality of writing and topics chosen.



4 Star ReviewA return to stimulation
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 18, 2011
Submitted by: Mary from St. Louis, MO

Harper's has definitely changed since I subscribed some thirty years ago. So far the format changes seem to fit the times, and yet, it still is full of stimulation and information. I like it a lot.



5 Star ReviewGreat writing - great magazine.
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 18, 2011
Submitted by: MSG



4 Star Review"Great articles and stories".
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 11, 2011
Submitted by: relaxing and reading from Hampton, va

I really enjoy relaxing  and reading all the different articles and stories that are published. I am looking forward to my next issue.



3 Star ReviewThis is a good literary magazine for the price.
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 11, 2011
Submitted by: sbd1988 from Murray, KY

I wanted a magazine to share with my students to show some real fiction and literary writing that has been published in magazines. However, I feel that this magazine is more of an adult magazine than one designed for just the average reader. Overall, 3 out of 5 stars.



5 Star ReviewThe Best Magazine
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 4, 2011
Submitted by: TJ

I love Harper's. It's a treat whenever I get it. Best magazine!



5 Star ReviewGreat magazine!
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 2, 2011
Submitted by: Adrocks from Simi Valley, CA

 Harper's  is an outstanding source of a wide variety of information, both straight forward news and opinion.



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 21, 2010
Submitted by: Bev

I'm just becoming familiar with this magazine and will withhold judgment pending further reading.



4 Star ReviewHarper's is Great!
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 21, 2010
Submitted by: CJ

I love reading the Index.



1 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 1, 2010
Submitted by: Ralph

Totally not what I expected. I was very disappointed in the magazine.



5 Star Reviewinterteresting and entertaining
A review of Harper's Magazine, September 4, 2010
Submitted by: Ronnie from Jacksonville, FL

The cost is low for such value.  The wares in this magazine is entertaining to the end.  Just think of the value you get, try it for a bit then judge.



4 Star ReviewI am not sure about that.
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 31, 2010
Submitted by: Woofie

I really like the fact that there is very little advertisement.  Also, the articles are in depth.  The writing is exceptional. 



4 Star Reviewthis is an intellectual mgazine
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 13, 2010
Submitted by: sumoma4 from wichita, KS

 it is not often you can find a magazine that is written for the intellectual in the crowd. most magazines are full of "helpful "hints, recipes, and what i usually refer to as unneccessary crap (or FLUFF"),and many, many ads. i had pretty much given up on magazines in general, and then you sent me an issue of HARPERS. what a pleasant surprise. finally, a magazine i find to be quite mentally stimulating. i appreciate anything, that works my mind. kudos to your staff, for refusing to be led down the garden path of easy articles written to please the average IQ. keep up he good work!!



4 Star ReviewExcellent maganize covering culture and politics.
A review of Harper's Magazine, June 11, 2010
Submitted by: Brad from Columbus, OH

For the person interested in poignant social commentary, Harper's is an excellent source.  Articles are well-written, and an added bonus is that every issue features a fiction piece selected from among the most stunning contemporary authors.  I highly recommedn Harper's.



5 Star Reviewa refreshing blend of serious and silly
A review of Harper's Magazine, May 11, 2010
Submitted by: Wendy from Sherman Oaks, CA

I look forward to receiving my Harper's like a kid waiting for the ice cream truck to come by. 



4 Star Reviewnational issues
A review of Harper's Magazine, May 11, 2010
Submitted by: meandean from Caldwell, Tx

Favorite  articles so  far.;  abiyt Guantonamo prison &  secret torture sites  Also,  the  article  about "new"  soft  weapons.  both  of  these  are  fascinating.  I  do  not  care  for  the  fiction I' 've read (attempted  to  read).



2 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, May 4, 2010
Submitted by: DiAnna

Not much content and not that interesting. Disappointed....



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, April 20, 2010
Submitted by: AR

This magazine is full of interesting tidbits and articles. Highly recommend it.



5 Star ReviewThis is a great, informative, well-written magazine. I love it!
A review of Harper's Magazine, March 23, 2010
Submitted by: Maggie

 



4 Star ReviewGreat ideas, great thinkers...A magazine for both
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 28, 2010
Submitted by: Karen from Aneta, ND

This magazine presents essays on a variety of topics that are challenge minds and create thinkers to learn more about the ideas presented.  A wonderful tool for stratching the mind!



4 Star ReviewKeeps you abreast of current news.
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 10, 2010
Submitted by: More from Sacramento, CA

I have only received 3 issues of Harper's and I think it is a good magazine to read for current event issues.



5 Star ReviewThis is a great source for research.
A review of Harper's Magazine, February 2, 2010
Submitted by: Mrs. R. from Aneta, ND

Since receiving the first issue of Harper's, I have spent time reading reviews, articles, and essays that have been most helpful in a variety of research projects for high school students who come into my library for help.

Views are always challenging for the students and weighing pros and cons is a great excercise for the minds of my students.

 



1 Star ReviewNot for me
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 26, 2010
Submitted by: Ging from Columbus, Oh



5 Star ReviewExcellent articles on a wide range of subjects
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 26, 2010
Submitted by: Peggy from Phoenix, AZ

The articles in Harper's are extremely well written and cover a wide variety of subjects. I didn't know Harper's was still being published because our local libraries have cut back on so many magazines. The depth of the stories featured provide more than just a sound bite and it is one of the reasons, I read Harper's.



5 Star ReviewUnlike any magazine I've read
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 26, 2010
Submitted by: Hal from Idaho Falls, Id



4 Star ReviewCan be a bit dry at times, otherwise some decent articles.
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 26, 2010
Submitted by: tblaine

Can be a bit dry at times, otherwise some decent articles.



4 Star ReviewHarper's Rocks!
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 26, 2010
Submitted by: Lucy

The articles are so varied and interesting! One minute you're reading about Warren Buffet and the next minute you can throw yourself into a story about a guy sneaking around his neighbor lady's house in the middle of the night. I like it because it's not the same old boring stuff! It's not conservative by any means.



4 Star ReviewGreat Puzzle
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 26, 2010
Submitted by: Bill Kring, the Math King from Vancouver, WA

I got the subscription because of the monthly puzzle. It is great. I have enjoyed some of the articles, too.



5 Star ReviewConversation and Classroom
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 26, 2010
Submitted by: AliBG from Iowa City, IA

With four months already piled up on my desk, I have to say that Harper's has been the single most useful subscription I've ever had.  Every month, I have relied on its articles in my classroom and in conversation with family and friends. It offers depth of coverage instead of being bombarded with snippets of relatively decontextualized information, and I apprecaite that.

I also appreciate that it's a monthly publication, because it takes about a month to fully meander through the articles and think about the issues they raise. 

Thanks, Harpers!



2 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 12, 2010
Submitted by: ksw

I won't subscribe again.



3 Star ReviewVerbose and academic.
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 5, 2010
Submitted by: teach8 from Bel Air, MD

This  is a very erudite magazine for serious bibliophiles.  Many readers will be overly challenged and lose interest quickly. It is not a relaxing read



4 Star ReviewThis magazine makes me think.
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 5, 2010
Submitted by: Mark from Partucket, RI

Great magazine.  Nice mix of bite sized, info and full length, in depth essays.  The only question is why the adverts for berrats?  Can you sterotype leftists more?



1 Star ReviewAll Left Wing, All the Time
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 23, 2009
Submitted by: Mort St. John

If you only want to see the world through the prism of the Left Wing, then this is the magazine for you - personally, I prefer a little balance.  I was attracted toward it because of this journal's long history, but I will not be renewing.  I prefer a little more balance.



4 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 22, 2009
Submitted by: swimcoach from Gallipolis, Oh

While I like the topics, I was a little shocked with the language.  Now that I am aware of it, I will be sure not to encourage my children to read it.  I am refering to the article about the remenents of  Wounded Knee.   



4 Star ReviewInteresting, thought-provoking pieces
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 24, 2009
Submitted by: dan

I have enjoyed reading Harper's for the first time.  I especially have enjoyed the short pieces/excerpts near the front of the magazine.



5 Star ReviewWhat an eclectic mix of intelligence and insight!
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 17, 2009
Submitted by: JP from Claremont, CA

Harper's has yet to disappoint me! I love the breadth and depth of your articles. They are timely and important and go into detail not typically seen in magazines today. I also appreciate the Harper's outlook and feel at home on your pages. Thanks for the treat.



4 Star ReviewGreat diversity of literature
A review of Harper's Magazine, November 17, 2009
Submitted by: Jack from Orange, CA

This magazine is great of all genres of literature, including commentary and art and book reviews, etc.  It's entertaining and informing and makes good use of images



5 Star ReviewA Magazine That Has Renewed My Faith In Humanity
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 20, 2009
Submitted by: Shell from Beaverton, Or

I have just received my third edition of your magazine.  I have made copies of several of the articles and sent to friends.  There were two in your October edition that I thought were enlighting and extremely well written. The first was the New Books article by Benjamin Moser.  His obvious love of books and the erudite manifistation of his approach is a joy to read.  I am looking forward to more.  Also among my favorites is the essay "A Man Of Extinction" by Nicholas Fraser.  I had never heard of the two gentlemen Mr. Ffraser discussed  but after reading his beautiful essay I purchased this book.  The photographs of Paolo Ventura in your November issue are powerful in their simplicity.  I am happy to be a subscriber and feel honored to be a part of an intelligent aray of humaanity.



1 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, October 7, 2009
Submitted by: ts

Boring



5 Star ReviewLong Live Harper's
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 7, 2009
Submitted by: gretta from Fremont, NE

Surrounded by plastic constructs, we ache for the human truth that lives in good black ink on white pages. The feel of print, the smell of it, something to be read with deliberation, savored. The unfakeable craftsmanship of words, the secret valley into which the piddled-on heart can escape. A single essay by Lewis Lapham can put all the snarky bloggers into perspective from here to eternity. Blogs--yech! Long live Harper's! I'm so glad to see it arriving at my door.



5 Star ReviewExcellent Magazine containing literature and political commentary
A review of Harper's Magazine, May 20, 2009
Submitted by: Lindsey Martin-Bowen, JD from Lee's Summit, MO

Containing short stories by renown author, political commentary, essays, and book reviews, Harper's is a top magazine. For example, the June issue contains a short story by Kurt Vonnegut ("Little Drops of Water"), an excerpt of a poem by Tennessee Williams from Southwest Review, a "Forum" Department containing comments from such writers as Sherman Alexie, Jamaica Kincaid, and Kevin Baker, and an article by Fredrerick Kaufman commenting on Bill Gates.

The writing is top-notch, too. No kidding--this is five-star stuff.



5 Star ReviewGreat read
A review of Harper's Magazine, March 17, 2009
Submitted by: Marie

Harper's is generally very interesting. There are some long articles I can't always get to, but wish I could.

 



5 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, January 20, 2009
Submitted by: Bob

Well written articles, thought-provoking, varied, and intelligent.



5 Star ReviewA Thinking Person's Magazine with a Liberal slant
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: K.T. from Bend, OR

Harper's offers intelligent articles about the world from Iraq and other hots spots to the lastest development in science, medicine, or history, etc.   There is a monthly fiction piece, modern day or from another decade such as lost chapters from A Death in the Family.

Each month there are several short reading from the mundane to the quirky by famous living or dead people or by obscure people.  There are also reviews in- depth about new books and pieces about critics and writers. 

For entertainment, there is a Puzzle from various people on such subjects as Body Parts or whatever.  When completed, the reader may enter the puzzle in a contest in which the first, three correct solutions win a year's subscription to Harper' s.  Additional entertainment includes the back page Findings about an esoteric subject or the Harper's Index, which offers  numbers about various topics, such as "number of seconds it takes a synthetic Christmas tree to burn" and the answer, 32. 

There are also occasional poems tucked about.

A leisurely month's reading, ensuring added knowledge, entertainment, humor and pathos, and a challenge or two.



5 Star ReviewOne of the best opinion magazines there is
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Sandra from Yorba Linda, CA

Harper's consistently uses top writers for investigative reports,  its opinion articles and its fiction (personally,  I'd like to see more fiction).  Like The New Yorker, Harper's reports on world events that seem to miss the daily press.  We're particularly fond of former editor Lewis Lapham's essays, and of course, the Index is great fun.  The magazine leans left,  but relies strongly on documented evidence its presentations.



5 Star ReviewEssential magazines
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Jim from Denver

There are three essential magazines for an informed citizen: The New Yorker, Atlantic Monthly, and Harpers.



5 Star ReviewVital Information!
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: McBain

Harper's is an unsurpasses source of what's really going on in the world today.  The articles are indepth and well-researched, providing information far beyond what is presented in the mainstream media.  With "the news" becoming nothing more than "infotainment", magazines like Harper's are a vital source of real information.  They also include meticulous sources and critical analysis to support the material presented.



5 Star ReviewOverall Review of Magazines
A review of Harper's Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: Juwel the Dog from Tucson, AZ

I read Harpers as often as possible, not just to be informed, but to get a liberal perspective of what is going on in the world.  I also subscribe to conservative magazines as well.  What I look for when reading any magazine or book that deals with political subjects is the complete and utter lack of adjectives. Harpers scores very high in this regard, for (in my mind at least) the more adjectives an article has, the lower the level of objectivity. 
What I also look for are footnotes at the end of an article.  Obviously, Harpers does not always includes footnotes.  But it should.  Also, every article should be open to commentary by people who do not nesessary agree with the arguments stated in he article.  This would make Harpers, in my mind, a much better magazine.
One last thing, and that is that the writing in Harpers should be as far removed from propraganda and emotion as possible (in other words, as far removed from the tactics of both Michael Moore and Rush Limbaugh).  When tonality has an effect on intelligence, logic, and objectivitity, I have learned to ignote it.

Take care,
John Scott Schwab
jspsjohn@comcast.net



4 Star Review
A review of Harper's Magazine, August 20, 2007
Submitted by: Jim from Milwaukee, WI

Political articals especially good.  Notebook usually excesptional.



4 Star Reviewthoughtful
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: mwb from medford, or

I like Harper's because it has diverse, thoughtful articles that often times have just the right amount of irreverance.



5 Star ReviewIntelligence with a Twist
A review of Harper's Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: jenkaybird from marina, ca

Having subscribed to Harper's for the last fifteen years I can assure you this is solid reporting and investigation in everything  from the current state of politics to the nefariously humorous doings of the seedy underbelly of a popular cruise line.  Book reveiws, newsbits, curious items and the ever-famous Harper's Index make Harper's a timeless classic.

Write a ReviewBack to TopGo Back
Find a magazine fast!
  Quick Magazine Search:

Hot Magazine Categories   All Magazine Categories

Special Magazine Deals

New Magazines

Gift Giving:

Magazine Gift Ideas

Magazine Gift Certificates

Free Gift Cards

Search Alphabetically:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N
O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
  All Magazines

Search by Discount Magazine Price:

Under $10
$10 to $15
$15 to $20
$20 to $25

   $25 to $30
   $30 to $40
   $40 and up
Discount Magazines Subscriptions Make A Great Gift - MagazineLine
Magazine Subscription Deals And Benefits - MagazineLine