Magazineline Homepage
Discount Magazines Make a Great Gift - MagazineLine
Customer Service
About MagazineLine



Southern Living MagazineAll Customer Reviews for:
Southern Living Magazine


Average Customer Rating:

4 Star Rating
Write a ReviewGo Back



5 Star ReviewOpening The Door To The South
A review of Southern Living Magazine, August 31, 2014
Submitted by: Barbara from Nicholasville, KY

I love this magazine.  From travel and food, to home decor and gardening, this is the best resource for the south!!!

 



5 Star ReviewA great way to feel at home
A review of Southern Living Magazine, December 12, 2013
Submitted by: CD from Bozeman, MT

I live in the Midwest now, but I'm from the south, and my heart will always be in the south. This is a great way to feel at home again, being so far away. I love Southern Living!



5 Star ReviewLove all the articles and recipes for our southern life.
A review of Southern Living Magazine, June 27, 2013
Submitted by: RJ from titusville, FL

We used to subscribe to SL years ago when we lived in the mid-Atlantic.  Now that we are Floridians we are enjoying it even more.



5 Star ReviewI like it.
A review of Southern Living Magazine, May 23, 2013
Submitted by: AA

It's nice, fresh, pleasant reading.



5 Star Review
A review of Southern Living Magazine, February 10, 2013
Submitted by: Hilton Head Woman

Fabulous recipes!  Southern charm.



2 Star ReviewI am disappointed.....
A review of Southern Living Magazine, February 7, 2013
Submitted by: Reader from Bogart, GA

I just got my first copy of my Southern Living subscription and thought "this is not the Southern Living that I subscribed to! I have always grabbed the the Southern Living first when in the doctor's office or other waiting rooms. I love the gardening section and the decorating section in the older copies. I'm not sure I will bother with another subscription when this one runs out.



4 Star Review
A review of Southern Living Magazine, May 29, 2012
Submitted by: Karen

Great recipes and gardening ideas. (Home decor and travel are great, too, if you have a good amount of disposable income.)



5 Star Review
A review of Southern Living Magazine, February 6, 2012
Submitted by: mc from Dallas, TX

Wonderful ideas for food, travel, and decor the South.



5 Star Reviewexcellent
A review of Southern Living Magazine, December 19, 2011
Submitted by: jan



4 Star ReviewWhat's wrong with you people and all the negativity?
A review of Southern Living Magazine, November 16, 2011
Submitted by: Georgia Gurl from Chatsworth, GA

I would of gave the magazine 5 stars, but it's kinda pricey. Other than that, I love the style of the magazine. Who cares how big the pages are. Magazines aren't what they used to be, most have downsized. The reason I DIDN'T subscribe before was because the magazine was too fuddey duddey. Now, it's a more up to date. The recipes rock, I've made so many desserts from the magazine. I'm a Georgia transplant from New York. Just shows you don't have to be born and bred in the South to love it. Keep up the good work Lindsey!



1 Star ReviewChanges not for the Better
A review of Southern Living Magazine, June 23, 2011
Submitted by: bjhunne from Liberty, NC

New format for SL is terrible, magazine is so "slick" now, so SMALL! Recipes are now by test kitchen rather than readers as in the past. I loved the old SL magazine, dislike the current. Will not renew my subscription for the above and also other reasons related to the new format.



4 Star ReviewBest magazine for those living or wanting to live in the south.
A review of Southern Living Magazine, May 24, 2011
Submitted by: stewey from Mocksville, NC

Southern Living is filled with wonderful recipes each month, most of which are easy to try along with great articles about southren design & outdoor livivng.



5 Star ReviewLove this magazine
A review of Southern Living Magazine, February 7, 2011
Submitted by: mother from mesquite, Tx

Good the best magazine



4 Star Reviewa magazine in flux
A review of Southern Living Magazine, January 4, 2011
Submitted by: Ter from Williamsburg, VA

I have been subscribing to Southern Living for prpbably 20 years.  It has become a much smaller magazine.  There used to be simple decorating ideas in each issue and those are now gone.  It's disappointing.  recipes remain great!



5 Star ReviewThe best for food & travel
A review of Southern Living Magazine, October 27, 2010
Submitted by: Petals from Clermont, Fl

The recipes are "no fail"....I appreciate that they are tried and tested.  I am always confident that I can try something new on "company". 

I like the short, to the point, interesting tips and articles on travel.  Have gone to Meyers Gardens and Belle Chavre Farms this year on motor home traveling and was thrilled to visit both.

Keep up the good work!

 



2 Star ReviewChanges to Southern Living magazine are not acceptable.
A review of Southern Living Magazine, August 11, 2010
Submitted by: Jean from Huntsville, AL

Changes made to Southern Living magazine have taken what was once a very classy, beautiful, informative magazine and turned it into a disappointment to its many loyal readers.  I am 62 years old and have read your magazine since first reading my mother's copies so many years ago.  It was the only magazine that I faithfully subscribed to every year.  Please return Southern Living to its once unique status as the BEST!

 



5 Star Review
A review of Southern Living Magazine, August 3, 2010
Submitted by: JeJe from Lake Park, GA

Love Southern Living!



5 Star ReviewThis magazine is the best for recipes, decorating, travel, and landscaping!
A review of Southern Living Magazine, April 18, 2010
Submitted by: No Nickname from Greenwood, MS

I HAVE BEEN GETTING SOUTHERN LIVING FOR OVER FIFTEEN YRS.  I recently renewed my subscription.  It is a great magazine and I have given two gift subscriptions.



5 Star ReviewI Love this magazine! Classy!
A review of Southern Living Magazine, December 28, 2009
Submitted by: Becky



5 Star ReviewFantastic magazine!
A review of Southern Living Magazine, December 1, 2009
Submitted by: kathie from La Quinta, CA

Great recipes and design ideas, especially on holiday editions.



2 Star ReviewNot the same.............
A review of Southern Living Magazine, October 5, 2009
Submitted by: Dawn in Texas from Belton, Tx

I totally agree with all the other reviews.  This magazine is not what it used to be.  I canceled my subscription also.  I am terribly disappointed in the new formate.  Please change back!!

Dawn in Texas



4 Star ReviewNot my Mother's Southern Living
A review of Southern Living Magazine, June 16, 2009
Submitted by: Glenda_gw from Atlanta, GA

I am from the south and grew up looking at my mother's Southern Living Magazines. In fact, she never got rid of them and they were more treaured than our full set of Encyclopedias. As an adult I subscribed and loved the magazine even more; however I fell off the band wagon some 7-8 years back and quit subscribing. Recently I had the opportunity to subscribe again and felt it would be like a trip home. I have received 2 issues so far, May and June 2009 and I have to tell you I was a little let down. The issues seem so small and thin. I read the first one cover to cover in about an hour. I used to spend hours pouring over the pages. After the second issue came I realized it would never be the same as the memory of the old Southern Living I used to read. The information in the magazine is still good, but as I looked through it I couldnt think of one reason to hang on to the magazines and passed them along to a friend.



2 Star ReviewDisappointed
A review of Southern Living Magazine, February 24, 2009
Submitted by: Cindy from Prosperity, SC

Yes, I agree  with all the other negative about Southern Living,  I loved this magazine, it was always nice and thick and loved the many different recipes.  What happen? It is so thin now. I did not renew either.  Not worth the price.



1 Star ReviewHate, hate, hate the change in format...
A review of Southern Living Magazine, December 28, 2008
Submitted by: pickle91 from Orange Park, FL

Hate, hate, hate the change in format.  I gave it a chance & it is unacceptable.  I might as well subscribe/purchase one of the many other home & women's magazine that are a dime a dozen.  They taken a very traditional, classy magazine & ruined it.  It is so cheap that the flimsy pages often tear.

I was going to wait & simply not renew my subscription.  However, I am going to call & stop immediately & receive a pro-rated refund.



5 Star Reviewbest all around for the South
A review of Southern Living Magazine, December 16, 2008
Submitted by: MC



1 Star ReviewChange it back!
A review of Southern Living Magazine, September 16, 2008
Submitted by: Brittany from Kodiak, AK

Born and raised in Georgia, I was infuriated to find that my newly opened subscription had been changed to a smaller, non-intriguing, take-me-back-to-my-roots magazine!   I've been stationed in Kodiak, AK for the U.S. Coast Guard for a year and having not seeing the magazine, I thought I had been ripped off by a knock-off when I received my first copy!  I'm 5,000 miles away from home and extremely disappointed! CHANGE IT BACK!



2 Star ReviewSOUTHERN LIVING MAGAZINE
A review of Southern Living Magazine, August 26, 2008
Submitted by: padowd from Decatur, Al

I am very disappointed in the new format of this magazine.I have always loved this magazine and bought it every month for years but I will not do so anymore.It was, I felt like ,one of the best on the market but not anymore.I would love to see it go back like it was.I feel like I am not alone in this by reading all the reviews.Maybe someone from Southern Living will notice and change it back.I feel like they have made a big mistake.



1 Star ReviewWhat Happened!
A review of Southern Living Magazine, August 5, 2008
Submitted by: Pam from Jacksonville, FL

I thought there must be a new editor when I saw the "new"  Southern Living.    I could not believe the transformation.  Who is the target audience?  Elementary children? 

Let's start with the cover.  The beautiful, well designed, vibrantly colored photo is a thing of the past.  The page layout in the magazine looks like something my college journalism class would have done in magazine design/layout 101.  The use of primary color in the form of broad lines to disect pages into squares and rectangles  allowing for fewer words on a page and a simpler look is juvenile.  As is putting colored boxes around page numbers. 

Color in the magazine is now dull and lifeless.   Changing the magazine size and binding (staples which gave it a nice rounded, sophisticated look and feel to glue) just make it like any other cheap magazine out there.  

The glorious recipes and food section SL is so known for are all but gone.  The decorating "stories" look like cheap ads.  I used to imagine how nearly everything featured in SL would look in my house and got many decorating ideas from SL.  Take August 2008 issue for example.  There is not one thing on the cover (a mish mash of unattractive items) or inside that I would even consider displaying or using in my home. 

A full page ad is now on every other page.  There are few or no  stories consuming consecutive pages.  The pages at the back of the magazine that list places to buy items has been elimnated. 

What is the need to put the writer's name now in large bold type at the top of the page?  It is distracting.  The new font is very uninteresting.  And last but not least, why get rid of "Southern Journal"  the always inspirational and thought provoking last page of SL?    "Life in the South" has turned the last page into a brief blub with two short paragraphs and again the red line, box, and dot to take up space. 

Southern Living was once one of the country's best written, designed, photographed, and informative magazines.   Now it has joined the ranks of other written medium and has become simple, plain and boring.  By changing to this painfully basic, simple and dull format, SL has insulted its readers and the intellgence of the American people.  Please,  do you really think your readers are this simple?  I am truly saddened and will miss Southern Living very much.  After 20 years of loving this magazine, I will no longer subscirbe, buy or give  Southern Living magazine.  I can only hope it will return to its former stylish and classy form.



1 Star Review
A review of Southern Living Magazine, July 25, 2008
Submitted by: young nana from Hattiesburg, MS

I have finally decided to express my TOTAL disappointment and dismay in the 'new' Southern Living Magazine-the so-called 'new' format, the content, the horrifically horrible recipes, as well as the now rapid encroachment on the recipe section so that now it is almost non-existent!  I am just sick about this.It had never been an all-decorating book before. I have always looked forward to this magazine; now I finish looking it over and feel furious. IF I WANTED NORTHERN RECIPES FROM PEOPLE IN PENNSYLVANIA, WISCONSIN, ETC., I WOULD SUBSCRIBE TO TASTE OF HOME. Who on earth is now new and different as editor(s) and deciding the content.?The recipes, touted as 'healthy.' are repulsive. It has to be  be influence of  people NOT from the South and  a great deal looks like all masculine input!!! I am now considering cancelling my subscription as well as the annual gifts of Southern Living and I so regret that - I just do not want to do that. Why spend money on something no longer enjoyable? I am not alone. We have discussed this many times at work in past few months and social gatherings and we all concur. You have gone too too far in 'extending' the South.



1 Star Reviewnew foremat so ordinary, not as Southern Living in the past
A review of Southern Living Magazine, April 3, 2008
Submitted by: Carolyn from Paris, TN

As a subscriber for 32 years, I dislike very much the new format of the magazine.  So ordinary; not as Southern Living in the past.



5 Star Review
A review of Southern Living Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: topolpt

very clasy, recipes are easy and delicious, nice ideas for decorating, year round.have been subscrining for over 15 years

 5 stars !



4 Star ReviewLove it. Its got good recipes.
A review of Southern Living Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: -- from charleston, sc

Love it.  Its got good recipes.

Write a ReviewBack to TopGo Back

Find a magazine fast!
  Quick Magazine Search:

Hot Magazine Categories   All Magazine Categories

Special Magazine Deals

New Magazines

Gift Giving:

Magazine Gift Ideas

Magazine Gift Certificates

Free Gift Cards

Search Alphabetically:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N
O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
  All Magazines

Search by Discount Magazine Price:

Under $10
$10 to $15
$15 to $20
$20 to $25

   $25 to $30
   $30 to $40
   $40 and up
Discount Magazines Subscriptions Make A Great Gift - MagazineLine
Magazine Subscription Deals And Benefits - MagazineLine