Magazineline Homepage
Discount Magazines Make a Great Gift - MagazineLine
Customer Service
About MagazineLine


The Week Magazine

All you need to know about everything that matters

50 Issues
Our Price: $69.00
BuyBuy as Gift

All customer reviews for The Week Magazine



Average Customer Rating:

5 Star Rating
Write a ReviewGo Back



4 Star ReviewShort, compact, interesting articles
A review of The Week Magazine, July 3, 2014
Submitted by: gypsy from Chicago, IL

I like The Week magazine because it has interesting and short articles with opinions gleaned from around the world.  The obituaries are a favorite feature as well as "Best books...chosen by."  This is a list of favorite books, new and old, chosen by various writers. The magazine is short enough not to be threatening once a week and long enough to cover many news stories.



5 Star ReviewGreat Summation
A review of The Week Magazine, June 12, 2014
Submitted by: Toitle from Lansdowne, pa

A nice selection of items you don't see in the newspapers.



5 Star Review
A review of The Week Magazine, April 10, 2014
Submitted by: Cindy from Lexington, KY

Best quick-to-read news magazine with human interest stories.



3 Star ReviewLimited news content; in light of the subscription cost.
A review of The Week Magazine, May 16, 2013
Submitted by: Grant from Mechanicsburg, PA

I have received my 2nd weekly issue and was expecting more in the way of news and news analysis content.  A lot of the news appears to be content that I have already seen on various national news web sites.  At this point, I do not think the magazine is worth the subscription cost but I'll see how future issues turn out.  I was looking for a weekly magazine that would be more like the old US News and World Report magazine and contain indepth analysis articles.



5 Star Review"The Week" is great!
A review of The Week Magazine, February 21, 2013
Submitted by: Muskielou from Lewis Center, Oh

In my opinion, I really enjoy The Week. I picked it up because Newsweek stopped publishing. I find The Week much more balanced and fair than Newsweek which was decidedly liberal in nature. The Week does a good job of presenting both sides of any given issue. I'm going to be a suscriber for a long time.



5 Star ReviewGood read
A review of The Week Magazine, February 14, 2013
Submitted by: Avid reader

I really enjoy the short articles and headline style news. They also throw in a few other pieces of interest to make this a well rounded magazine. Excellent for people who do not have a lot of time but are interested in what's going on in the world.



5 Star ReviewMy favorite news magazine
A review of The Week Magazine, November 2, 2012
Submitted by: anne from Oshkosh, Wi

I like the brevity and well written articles chosen from many sources. Most often the topic is treated from a variety of viewpoints.



4 Star ReviewGreat Synopsis of Everything happening in the World
A review of The Week Magazine, April 12, 2012
Submitted by: Southnh

Could use more conservative views but, the magazine does give a good view of each side of the issues.



4 Star Review
A review of The Week Magazine, October 20, 2011
Submitted by: MP Pointer from Mineral point, wi

A great little news magazine--THE WEEK. I listen to NPR most days, but look forward to THE WEEK on Friday for a summary and rehash of the week's events. I like the international and national news commentaries--arguments within their feature stories with quotes from often opposing viewpoints. Not always too serious, THE WEEK covers arts and entertainment without getting trivial, the book review page is fun, and the dining and travel columns (not always in my venue) are at least inspiring.My best naughty pleasure --the weekly column-- It Must Be True--I Read It in the Tabloids! All-in-all--it's fast, fun, and informative.



5 Star ReviewAll the news in one small package
A review of The Week Magazine, July 26, 2011
Submitted by: Thika from Westport, CT

This magazine is a compendium of news stories from many sources.  It presents all sides of a story and the articles are brief and useful.  And there are fun ones too.  Excellent.



5 Star ReviewAn excellent overview of current events.
A review of The Week Magazine, July 5, 2011
Submitted by: None from Brekenridge, co

Still new to the magazine but enjoy it so far.  It was suggested to me by a fellow Republican who is tired of foxnews and it's right wing bias. 



5 Star ReviewSo complete!
A review of The Week Magazine, July 5, 2011
Submitted by: AM from Oshkosh, Wi

I like The Week because it is not slanted right or left. Just presents materials from all points of view. I'm so glad my friend introduced it to me.



4 Star Reviewnews from a global perspective
A review of The Week Magazine, June 25, 2011
Submitted by: jowit from Gaithersburg, MD

This is a small publication, but has a lot of information in its pages. I love the section on news from around the US and then around the world...just a paragraph or so on each country being featured. The articles are well researhed and written. Even if you subscribe to another news magazine, you'll find this well worth reading and not repetitive. I was a skeptic as to whether I would like it or not, but I've been impressed so far.



5 Star ReviewVery newsy
A review of The Week Magazine, May 10, 2011
Submitted by: Em from Santa Barbara, CA

The Week is about the "newsyist" magazine we take. We like it a lot.



5 Star ReviewGreat multi perspective magazine.
A review of The Week Magazine, March 29, 2011
Submitted by: Anders from Rancho Cucamonga, ca

This magazine provides a balanced approach to each issue addressed and includes a variety of topics and interests.  My students are informed by leading opinion makers from both sides of each issue.  Additionally, there are topics that fall within a variety of interest groups from Arts and Stage, Science, Commerce and Politics.



4 Star ReviewA good summary of the weekly news
A review of The Week Magazine, March 25, 2011
Submitted by: Jonathan from Scio, OR

I purchased a subscription to this magazine because I was growing increasingly disappointed in the other weekly "news" magazines out there.  Mostly these other magazines seem to be moving away from actual news (especially international news) and focusing on pop culture, rankings, and articles that read like a blog.

In contrast, The Week actually presents news, both domestic and international and so is actually a news magazine.  How it does this is by summarizing news articles from other sources, such as newspapers, editorials, and the like.  This presents both pros and cons. 

The pro is you get news from a literal "who's who" in the newsfield.  Also, I've been pleasantly surprised by the inclusion of international news and analysis, often from a source I'd never have regular access to--such as the UK and German media. 

The con is that the information is somewhat dated (usually a week behind the event).  Also, you don't always get a lot of analysis with some subjects.

Overall, though, I'm pleased with this subscription and plan to renew.

 



5 Star ReviewConcise and balanced.
A review of The Week Magazine, March 1, 2011
Submitted by: cremmers from NE



3 Star ReviewA good briefing on current events
A review of The Week Magazine, December 14, 2010
Submitted by: Kathleen from Mount Prospect, IL

This is an excellent weekly for those of us who want to keep abreast of what's going on in the world but don't have a lot of time to read, or have gotten disillusioned with the poor quality of today's daily newspapers. 

On the negative side, it's all recycled stories gleaned from publications so a waste of $$ for anyone who does have the opportunity to read widely. 

 



5 Star ReviewThis is a real news news magazine.
A review of The Week Magazine, September 28, 2010
Submitted by: Elaine from Lambertville, MI

This magazine is concise, includes a variety of writers and sources, represents various viewpoines nationally and internationally,covers national news well, presents international news with map locations, reviews books,plays, movies, recommends TV shows, lists the 'best' movies coming up the next week and I love it. I like the conciseness.

Since 1964 or so, I have subscribed to TIME. I will probably not reveal that subscription or the one to Newsweek. I'm willing to read longer articles; however, the topics have to be interesting and relevant. TIME and Newsweek have, in my opinion, and I state this with sadness - sold out to be relevant and severely weakened their quality.

 



5 Star ReviewBest Weekly News Review
A review of The Week Magazine, September 7, 2010
Submitted by: Cairo

This magazine gives consise recaps of the weeks news.  I expecially like it because it gives both sides to all issues.  It includes the best of the weeks political cartoons.  Also, a brief "People" section.



5 Star ReviewExcellent, concise news magazine
A review of The Week Magazine, June 1, 2010
Submitted by: Wanting to stay informed from Little Chute, WI

The Week gives information about the highlights in the news for the previous week. The information comes from a variety of sources; therefore it doesn't just give one type of opinion, such as from the left or from the right. The magazine is quickly read and is in an inviting format covering many medias and types of news. I would recommend this magazine to anyone who wants to stay informed, yet doesn't have a lot of time to read long essays.



5 Star ReviewThe most informative magazine every week..better than a dail newspaper
A review of The Week Magazine, May 26, 2010
Submitted by: Gil from Saco, Ma



5 Star ReviewHighly informative
A review of The Week Magazine, April 29, 2010
Submitted by: Moise from Charlotte, NC

I found this in my dentist office three years ago, and hooked ever since! He will ONLY play corney old sitcoms with phoney laughter in the waiting room so it makes this magazine and TV station incompatible. This periodical will not appeal to anyone without brains.



5 Star ReviewBest news review magazine!
A review of The Week Magazine, March 23, 2010
Submitted by: Jan from Ludlow, MA

I really appreciate being able to read global news briefs and the top editorials on both sides of the issues.  I also like the other features, such as, the arts, book reviews and film and TV briefs.

Please keep The Week on your subscription list!!!!!!



4 Star ReviewExcellent recap of current events and general reaction to those events
A review of The Week Magazine, December 29, 2009
Submitted by: HappyMommyNC from Raleigh, NC

As the stay-home mom of a 2 year old and a 4 year old, I was feeling cut off from the world and completely ignorant of current events.  A friend recommended The Week as a non-partisan, unbiased account of the week in review, and I have found it to be exactly that.  Even if I only get a chance to read 1/2 the articles, I skim the headlines throughout this concise, well-written magazine, and I feel like I at least have a sense of what's going on in the world.

I highly recommend this magazine to anyone, but especially people who are short on time and are committed to getting a well-rounded, unbiased view of events.



5 Star Review
A review of The Week Magazine, July 21, 2009
Submitted by: Robert from San Angelo, TX

Highly readable sans scads of advertising inserts. I especially enjoy the non-opinionated articles.



4 Star ReviewGreat review magazine
A review of The Week Magazine, June 23, 2009
Submitted by: Pat from Springfield, MO

My husband and I have enjoyed "The Week". It is a great overall review of the weeks important stories. It captures various interpretations of major stories, giving the reader a more rounded experience. I would recommend this magazine!



5 Star ReviewConcise, readable news summaries.
A review of The Week Magazine, November 18, 2008
Submitted by: Sandra from Glendale, AZ



5 Star ReviewBest Subscription to Give as a Gift
A review of The Week Magazine, December 29, 2007
Submitted by: BH

The Week is by far the best magazine to get a wealth of info on a range of subjects in a short amount of time.  Witty and informative on many popular/ current events subjects, ranging from academic to absurd.   Makes a fantastic gift.



5 Star ReviewWorth every cent spent and every second reading it
A review of The Week Magazine, December 18, 2007
Submitted by: J. Foley from New York, NY

This is the only magazine that I buy anymore.  I do not have time to read every newpaper across the USA and abroad, but I do have time to read the summaries in The Week.  I tell everyone I know to get this magazine, because it is not bias to one political view.  Maybe a little, but much less than every other news source I know.  Buy The Week, you won't regret it!



5 Star ReviewAn excellent world news magazine for those of us who don't have time.
A review of The Week Magazine, December 13, 2007
Submitted by: DTC from Dallas, TX

This is an excellent world news magazine for those of us who want to read about it in shorter articles.  It gives the main thoughts about events and people from different viewpoints.  It often quotes journalists from other countries and cites opinions which often oppose to debate the issues.  I love this format.



5 Star ReviewThe only magazine that I read.
A review of The Week Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: JL from Camden, NJ



5 Star ReviewFast food
A review of The Week Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Waldorf from southfield, mi

. Fast food for the busy mind.



5 Star Reviewvery infformative.
A review of The Week Magazine, December 9, 2007
Submitted by: pmb from cheektowaga, ne

wide vartietyof topics witha wide range of informatio



5 Star ReviewWell-balanced, thoughtful, and succinct coverage
A review of The Week Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: Earl from Edmond, OK

The Week covers the news well, and from a variety of perspectives.  The coverage is well- balanced between left and right, and between the U.S. and international perspectives.  It covers books, film, the stage, and recorded music with brief reviews, although they are less balanced than the news coverage.  The Week is not for those who seek in-depth personal interviews or lengthy historical perspectives, but rather for those who seek a broad, evenhanded, and succinct view of national events, international events, and the arts.  I find The Week valuable because I want to know what is going on around me without spending untold hours doing so.



5 Star ReviewA great news source and an easy read
A review of The Week Magazine, July 16, 2007
Submitted by: Dan from Seattle, WA

The Week brings many varried views to the latest news and entertainment items in a balanced way.  It's the first magazine both me and my partner share with equal interest.



1 Star Review
A review of The Week Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: no from nevada city, ca

I liked it more one year ago than now. It's headed towards reporting from more conservative sources which I do not appreciate. I like the wit and wisdom, cartoons, and real estate items.

Write a ReviewBack to TopGo Back
Find a magazine fast!
  Quick Magazine Search:

Hot Magazine Categories   All Magazine Categories

Special Magazine Deals

New Magazines

Gift Giving:

Magazine Gift Ideas

Magazine Gift Certificates

Free Gift Cards

Search Alphabetically:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N
O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
  All Magazines

Search by Discount Magazine Price:

Under $10
$10 to $15
$15 to $20
$20 to $25

   $25 to $30
   $30 to $40
   $40 and up
Discount Magazines Subscriptions Make A Great Gift - MagazineLine
Magazine Subscription Deals And Benefits - MagazineLine