Magazineline Homepage
Discount Magazines Make a Great Gift - MagazineLine
Customer Service
About MagazineLine


Science News Magazine

An award-winning news magazine covering the most important research in all fields of science

1 Year, 26 Issues
Our Price: $50.00
BuyBuy as Gift

All customer reviews for Science News Magazine



Average Customer Rating:

4 Star Rating
Write a ReviewGo Back



5 Star ReviewHow to keep up with science
A review of Science News Magazine, April 10, 2014
Submitted by: oldphysicist from Sandy, UT

Science News covers a little of everything in modern science and does it well.



5 Star Review
A review of Science News Magazine, June 6, 2013
Submitted by: Lynn

Keeps me up to date on this happening now and in the pipeline.  I like the health information that is included.  If I could only subscribe to one news magazine, this would certainly be it. 



5 Star Reviewgreat news magazine
A review of Science News Magazine, February 14, 2013
Submitted by: jen from Sweetwater, TN

The latest and greatest news in science. love it



4 Star ReviewGreat science information for the layperson
A review of Science News Magazine, November 29, 2012
Submitted by: mm from Sioux Falls, SD



3 Star Reviewgood for a small 10 page mag/ nothing like Science Magazine!
A review of Science News Magazine, August 28, 2012
Submitted by: andrea moore from San Francisco, CA

like i said it is almost ok. it used to be much much better! I have saved all the Science News weeklies from last 20 years but fairly sure i will NOT be saving these.



4 Star ReviewI fell like a science student again!
A review of Science News Magazine, August 16, 2012
Submitted by: Mrs. P from PA

I am enjoying a science journal that is understandable but not watered down. The plan is to share the issues with my colleagues and students this year at school.



4 Star ReviewITS PRETTY GOOD MAGAZINE
A review of Science News Magazine, February 14, 2012
Submitted by: REDBURLEY928 from CHATTANOOGA, TN

ITS A FINE MAGAZINE FOR THE SCIENCE FIELD IT HAS INTERESTING TOPICS FOR THE ENTIRE INDUSTRY 



5 Star ReviewThis is the best overview of scientific news for general public.
A review of Science News Magazine, November 29, 2011
Submitted by: Mary

I am glad to be subscribing to Science News again. Science has always been an interest of mine and since I do not work in a scientific field,this magazine is a great way to keep up with what is happening in a broad range of sciences.



5 Star ReviewThe best science magazine
A review of Science News Magazine, November 22, 2011
Submitted by: scientist

In my opinion, this is the best science magazine aimed at non-specialists. Unlike Scientific American, which focuses on deeper coverage of very few individual discoveries through its feature articles, Science News provides brief but self-contained summaries of all important acomplishments across all sciences. Once you get basic information from SN, it is easy to look up the details online or in the references provided in the magazine. Science News performs an important function of informing public about recent progress in science, and, unlike other similar publications, it cannot be replaced by books or online resources, such as Wikipedia. As a researcher, I rely on this publcation to stay informed about progress in science outside of my specialty.



5 Star ReviewExceptional value: Science synopsis
A review of Science News Magazine, May 17, 2011
Submitted by: JMDC

Science News is an excellent way to maintain and broaden your awareness of discovery, invention and action across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines - and all very quickly. Short, concise pieces that update and expand. It is well written and of great value!



5 Star ReviewGreat for smaller articles for students to peak their interest and spark discussion. Great longer articles for student analysis.
A review of Science News Magazine, April 12, 2011
Submitted by: Sue

Great for smaller articles for students to peak their interest and spark discussion.  Great longer articles for student analysis.



5 Star ReviewGreat magazine for keeping abreast of what is new in the science world.
A review of Science News Magazine, February 22, 2011
Submitted by: msdeeds

A weekly science magazine well worth the copy price!



4 Star ReviewGreat magazine for the classroom.
A review of Science News Magazine, February 8, 2011
Submitted by: mrush from Okmulgee, OK

My students write summaries of the short and informative articles and we love the colorful pictures.



5 Star ReviewDazzling us with Science
A review of Science News Magazine, February 8, 2011
Submitted by: NWProf from Federal Way, WA

As a former Science Teacher I was always on the lookout for a "good" Science magazine. One that would grab a student's eye with an intriguing cover and make them want to pick up the magazine and read. Scientific American often had good covers but lost most people, adults as well as students, with the technicalities and the jargon in each article. Science magazine was much the same. It had one story that was interesting but the rest of the magazine was filled with information that only the residents of Eureka might understand. However, Science News not only has great covers but informative and easy to read stories. SN explains the details behind the stories that are in the news (or should be). It brings the stories to life and explains in easy to understand words why they are important. Science News covers every branch of science and shows in clear detail why science is (or should be) important in every American's life. It is one magazine whose arrival will be eagerly awaited in your house.



5 Star Reviewmy favorite science magazine
A review of Science News Magazine, October 12, 2010
Submitted by: Mussage

I love the variety in Science News; it seems to cover just about anything news worthy in the science field.  Also, the articles are written in easy to understand language, even for the persons who have only casual interest in the subjects.



3 Star ReviewsCIENCE nEWS
A review of Science News Magazine, September 28, 2010
Submitted by: jackp

Well-written but a bit superficial.



5 Star Review
A review of Science News Magazine, September 3, 2010
Submitted by: Karen Brown from Hillsboro, NH

I love Science News because it keeps me up on all the amazing discoveries and things being revealed in the area of science today. It is easy reading and never boring. The writers always find ways to hold onto my interest and not lose my focus with words and articles that are over my head. On the other hand, I find it amazing how much I learn from reading the articles. There are times when I remember some piece of information that I read in Science News and I am actually able to explain to someone without any problem the idea that the article was trying to convey. It's fun reading this magazine and I am pleased to say I think this is one purchase that is worth the money I paid.



5 Star ReviewExactly what I wanted.
A review of Science News Magazine, June 15, 2010
Submitted by: science loving mom

Simply this:  love it!  Just the right reading for a mom on the run..



2 Star Reviewso-so science magazine.
A review of Science News Magazine, May 11, 2010
Submitted by: JimGee

Not the right type of information.



5 Star ReviewLots of great, new, relevant stories.
A review of Science News Magazine, April 20, 2010
Submitted by: John



5 Star ReviewBest science summary magazine
A review of Science News Magazine, March 30, 2010
Submitted by: msubby from Hillsborough, NC

This is the best periodic summary of various aspects of "science in the news." The journal briefly summarizes recent articles from the top scientific journals, ranging from chemistry and physics to biology, medicine, anthropology, psychology, ecology, and behavioral sciences. The articles are well-written and geared toward a general but scientifically-inclined audience. The graphics are numerous and spectacular. The first half of the journal presents 1-2 articles per page for a quick and easy read. The second half presents articles that are more in depth, 2-3 pages long, but still quick and easy to read. This is a great summary of science magazine for readers with broad interests but little time.



4 Star ReviewGreat Science magazine
A review of Science News Magazine, May 26, 2009
Submitted by: Science Felix from Seattle, WA

I love Science and I love the way this magazine present science to the general public.



5 Star ReviewGeneral knowledge of science for all.
A review of Science News Magazine, March 31, 2009
Submitted by: Scienceguy from Oklaoma City, OK

Science News is a well written magzine that covers many areas in many fields of science.  It is written such that the average person can gain an insight in the latest scientific discoveries and news.



2 Star ReviewA mediocre choice
A review of Science News Magazine, February 11, 2009
Submitted by: RoboRoy from Eureka, CA

Science News  is hardly worth subscribing to since they went from a weekly to a bi-weekly edition. The bi-weekly edition was supposed to have about the same amount of material as 2 weekly editions, but in fact appears to have less material than one weekly edition. Most of the articles are continued online in more depth, but I subscribe to snailmail publications in order to read something away from my PC. I'd only consider re-subscribing if I could pay for an online edition only.



5 Star ReviewScientific Delight for ages 10 to 100+
A review of Science News Magazine, October 6, 2008
Submitted by: Wolfram from Potomac, MD

Well balanced extremely well written science journal with a good balance of text and images. Delivers the frontiers of scientific discoveries, ideas and insights in an easy to understand exciting package. 5/5 stars!



5 Star ReviewScience News is for kids...
A review of Science News Magazine, September 10, 2008
Submitted by: tick from Silver Spring, MD

The concern over that "racy" Science News ad is not only overblown--it appears in all kinds of consumer mags--but was a trial that the publication decided not to continue. Why: Because of complaints from elementary schools. In fact, the magazine is designed more for the high school set and older. But there's also a Science News for Kids--designed for middle schoolers and loved by their teachers. It's available free, online. Same impressive organization puts it out, weekly during the school year, biweekly during the summer.



2 Star ReviewScience News Not Fit for Children
A review of Science News Magazine, July 26, 2008
Submitted by: Birds and Bees

My 11 year-old loves to read the magazine but watch out for the ads!!  One full page ad in a recent volume advertises "Real people demonstrating real sexual techniques! Nothing is left to the imagination!"....I got alot of questions about that from my aspiring scientist.  It left me in an awkward postition.



5 Star ReviewIt is the best way to keep up with what is happening in Science!
A review of Science News Magazine, May 8, 2008
Submitted by: Rebecca

It is the best way to keep up with what is happening in Science!



4 Star ReviewBest Science Weekly - We Fight Over Who Gets To Read It First
A review of Science News Magazine, January 17, 2008
Submitted by: Loves Science

Science New is the best science weekly we have read -- we love it. My husband and I literally fight over who gets to read it first. It's a digest of all of the week's top science news stories -- spanning all scientific disciplines. A real joy to read, even for the lay person, and when a story is of more than basic interest, there is enough information to head to the Internet, or other sources, to uncover more information about the news of interest.



5 Star ReviewScience News is FIRST with science news!
A review of Science News Magazine, January 14, 2008
Submitted by: zeph from z'hills, fl

Have always loved this concise magazine...and now the price is good too!  Excellent delivery, you can trust these people!



5 Star ReviewBest & fastest Scientific news
A review of Science News Magazine, December 28, 2007
Submitted by: zeph from east pasco county, FL

Science News is an excellent quick review of the newest discoveries and provides concise information.  I also ove saving the money.  The Magazine comes in excellent condition too!



5 Star ReviewScience News
A review of Science News Magazine, December 15, 2007
Submitted by: pennyworth

An excellent weekly science review; indispensible for those who follow science news topics in the news.



5 Star ReviewExact size for toilet reading
A review of Science News Magazine, December 8, 2007
Submitted by: Wonderdog from santee, ca

Sci News is a great way to keep up with every scientific discipline with bite sized articles well suited to bathroom reading.  The current editor is very weak, but it will change for the better soon.  In the meantime, check the fluff writeups before quoting them.  The mag is tending toward several full page ads, but the page count remains constant reducing the value of the purchase, so be aware.   Also, each edition contains at least two of the dreaded postcard mailers stapled into the binder, making you hate the editor even more.  Don't pay more than $40 for a 52 week sub at Magazineline.

 



5 Star ReviewGreat magazine dealing with latest scientific advances
A review of Science News Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: JT from Fountainville, PA

This magazine is great for the person without much time to catch up on the latest scientific finds etc.  It is short with just enough info to give you what you need to know.  Great to read while on the aerobic machine at the gym



5 Star Reviewbulldog barks
A review of Science News Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: bulldog from Pittsburgh, PA

An executive with the Rand Corp. once ask me how I knew so much about the world. My answer was, "I read two periodicals a week and that gives me 85% of everything I need to know when making judgements concerning  the world's condition. The two periodicals are The Economist and Science News.  The executive looked through my copy of Science News and declared that from now on all his analysts will have Science News as required reading!



5 Star ReviewBe the first to hear about news in the world of science.
A review of Science News Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: Ocean84 from Hanover, MA

There is something for everybody's interest in Science News. You don'e have to be a 'scientist', it is written in terms that the average person can understand. So many times I have read something in Science News that shows up in Time, Newsweek, or U.S. News and World Report two to four weeks later. And comparing the articles in the different magazines that were written on the same subject, you'll get 'much more' out of the Science News article. Whether in Grade School, Middle School, High School or College,students can get great ideas for papers or projects from Science News. I know my son and daughters have. Plus they can impress their teachers with their knowledge of whats 'breaking' in the world of  Science News.



4 Star ReviewGreat magazine
A review of Science News Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: Brian

Science news is a great magazine which covers a wide breadth of science subjects in a manner that is accessible to someone without a Ph.D.  Excellent resource for students and interested science readers alike.



5 Star ReviewThis really is a wonderful little mag.
A review of Science News Magazine, November 9, 2007
Submitted by: birdboy48

I've been taking this little mag for many years now, and it keeps me up with absolutley everything you hear refered to on other news sources.  And.....you can read the whole thing in an hour or so.

Highly recomended as a gift  for adolecent science fans who you may suspect are interested in science, and yet could use a little something to further stoke  their interest.



5 Star ReviewA great way to keep up with science
A review of Science News Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: Arfarf from La Crescenta, CA

Science News fills a very important niche in my life, keeping me abreast of the latest research in all scientific fields. I can 't live without it.

Write a ReviewBack to TopGo Back
Find a magazine fast!
  Quick Magazine Search:

Hot Magazine Categories   All Magazine Categories

Special Magazine Deals

Combo Offers

New Magazines

Gift Giving:

Magazine Gift Ideas

Magazine Gift Certificates

Free Gift Cards

Search Alphabetically:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N
O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
  All Magazines

Search by Discount Magazine Price:

Under $10
$10 to $15
$15 to $20
$20 to $25

   $25 to $30
   $30 to $40
   $40 and up
Discount Magazines Subscriptions Make A Great Gift - MagazineLine
Magazine Subscription Deals And Benefits - MagazineLine