Magazineline Homepage
Discount Magazines Make a Great Gift - MagazineLine
Customer Service
About MagazineLine


Mother Jones Magazine

An excellent source for news, commentary, politics and the arts.

1 Year, 6 Issues
Our Price: $24.00
BuyBuy as Gift

All customer reviews for Mother Jones Magazine



Average Customer Rating:

4 Star Rating
Write a ReviewGo Back



5 Star ReviewExcellent in-depth reporting on important social/political issues.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 10, 2014
Submitted by: johnpa from Sacramento, CA



3 Star ReviewIt contains information I enjoy. It doesn't cover enough
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, March 6, 2014
Submitted by: Woody from Lakewood, Co



5 Star ReviewMJ is good writing with provocative perspectives!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, November 23, 2013
Submitted by: KayKay from North Wilkesboro, NC

It is best for citizens to keep informed from diverse perspectives, and reading MOTHER JONES  is a must to keep a balance.  Her writers write from the "heart" of the matter, and whether the audience agrees or not, MJ provides points-of-view that oftentimes counter status quo journalism's mundane propaganda. 



5 Star ReviewA Great Source for the Real News (not found on current news)
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 19, 2013
Submitted by: Loves Chocolate from Mount Laurel, NJ

Mother Jones tells it like it is.  Some of the news and commentary will not be reported on the mainstream news channels or magazines.  Some of the reports are amusing and some are downright scary. 



5 Star ReviewDaring topics. Excellent writing.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 13, 2013
Submitted by: Terri from Sanders, AZ

I read Mother Jones cover to cover, even topics of less interest to me, because the writing is excellent. The range of subject matter is wide giving the reader a panoramic view of contemporary life with an indepth insight by the writers and editors.



5 Star ReviewAlways a cover-to-cover read.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 31, 2013
Submitted by: jnydle

I'm not an avid reader of magazines as I typically lean towards blogs, however Mother Jones is the one and only magazine that I read cover-to-cover each issue. Very engaging and keeps its integrity, something that is lacking in much of media today.



5 Star ReviewGreat journalism from the thoughtful left.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 22, 2013
Submitted by: Velomann from Portland, Or

Glad I returned to Mother Jones after years away. Great perspective on national and international issues and excellent writing.



5 Star ReviewThe Truth in Printer's Ink
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 8, 2013
Submitted by: nannyh from Orange, TX

The individual contributions to the magazine are throught-provoking and discussion worthy.  Some of the views were real depth- chargers for this old lady.  I love its appeal for all ages.



4 Star ReviewNews you can't get elsewhee
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 26, 2013
Submitted by: MG from Lincoln, Ve

MJ is one of my favorites. It provides views and news that isn't available elsewhere.



5 Star ReviewThis is the best fitness magazine...!?!? Seriously, incredible news/information/literature/perspectives
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 26, 2013
Submitted by: Ed from Everett, WA

Mother Jones provides me with perspectives and information that have me stop and go "hmmm." The quality of writing from different sources is that opportunity to critically think.



4 Star Reviewliberal reporting
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 25, 2013
Submitted by: kkdjaslf;s from new lenox, Il

love the subjects discussed



5 Star ReviewGood labor magazine
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, March 7, 2013
Submitted by: Martha

Good interesting articles



5 Star ReviewA magazine aligned with concerns of most educators
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, March 7, 2013
Submitted by: MadBev from Little Rock, AR

Classroom teachers do not have the free time to read and reflect on current social issues and events--unless, of course, they are among the minimal few who don't make lesson plans or assign student work to be graded!  Mother Jones' articles provide the background and facts that enable readers to read and reflect on the major social and civic concerns of the day.  For instance, the articles "Criminal Element" in the Jan.-Feb. 2013 issue about "The hidden villain behind rampant crime, lower IQs, even the ADHD epidemic" and "Hearts and Minds" about the spiraling PTSD rate among veterans and how it seems to be spreading to their families" increased my understanding of the effects and sources of lead in the environment as well as the collateral damage of PTSD.  Every article somehow relates to my concerns for my students and for this country.  Should it be required reading for teachers?  If I could, I'd make it so--instead, I share articles with colleagues and school board members. 



5 Star Reviewnews with humor
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, February 12, 2013
Submitted by: kearny from Wyckoff, NJ



4 Star Reviewgood variety of articles
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, February 10, 2013
Submitted by: pading



5 Star ReviewGreat info and news!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, February 7, 2013
Submitted by: Heather

We love this magazine! It has been a great addition to our other news outlets!



4 Star ReviewIn depth reporting
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, February 2, 2013
Submitted by: poolek from Dayton, TN

I enjoy reading the articles. The articles are in depth and on progressive issues. In today's society, there is a shortage of such thorough coverage of topics.



5 Star ReviewMother Jones is a great satirical magazine!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, January 31, 2013
Submitted by: Oh really?

Mother Jones is what you want to read if you want a satire on politics!



5 Star Review
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 27, 2012
Submitted by: Mattie from Kaleva, Mi

I am enjoying the content.



3 Star Review
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: Izzy from Cross Junction, VA

NOT SURE.  FIRST TIME I HAVE SEEN THIS MAGAZINE.  WILL NEED MORE TIME TO DECIDE.



5 Star ReviewMore timely than ever...
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: inthemiddlemom from Mount Prospect

Mother Jones magazine carries on her tradition of exposing the greed fueling our current economic & environmental chaos.



5 Star ReviewFun Reading and Educational
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: Omoade from Hyattsvill, MD

Yes, I have received my first issue of the magazine and I have enjoyed reading it tremendously. It is fun and somewhat educational. I use the articles for students as a supplementary reading material on government and politics. Since this edition was for the election, it was a very timely reading both for me and my students. I've decided to create a magazine Library in my classroom so my students will have access to a variety of political, social, technological, and cultural information.



4 Star Review
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: Penny

I am thoroughly enjoying Mother Jones magazine.  It is a very fascinating mix of the arts, news, politics, etc.  I teach Humanities in a high school and it is just right up my alley!  Thanks!



4 Star ReviewGreat stuff!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 6, 2012
Submitted by: Carole from Council Bluffs, IA

Brilliant writers giving their views and the latest news. Great stuff!



4 Star Review
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, November 18, 2012
Submitted by: stringbean

Informative



4 Star Reviewa very good in depth magazine
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, November 16, 2012
Submitted by: sters

Enjoyable to read and has very  well written in depth articles.



5 Star ReviewGreat reporting!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, November 9, 2012
Submitted by: G

Eye opening, complete, accurate reporting! Details are great & articles go beyond the headlines!



2 Star Reviewjust a bit paranoid
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, November 8, 2012
Submitted by: bob from portland, me

The article about prison policy for solitary confinement was over the top in its lack of insight why these individuals is first in coninement and subsequently in solitary confinement.  Not at all well balanced.



4 Star Reviewinformative
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, November 1, 2012
Submitted by: Crusher

recommended reading



5 Star ReviewFull of must-know information!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, October 23, 2012
Submitted by: nickyboy from Plainfield, NJ

Great articles that impact many areas of our lives: personal health, politics, community to name a few.



5 Star ReviewGreat source of news and fresh perspective
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, October 5, 2012
Submitted by: RSS from Portland, OR



5 Star ReviewIn-depth and informative
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, October 4, 2012
Submitted by: KeepOnThinking from Longmont, CO

Mother Jones is a great read. It isn't for those that want to skim the surface of life though. Be prepared to think, feel perturbed, or be inspired to action.



1 Star Reviewdon't buy this
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 13, 2012
Submitted by: me

such a boring magazine



3 Star Reviewsome interesting articles
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 9, 2012
Submitted by: adiggs from Beaufort, sc

Some of the articles apply to my field of interest.A good publication



4 Star ReviewMistaken Identity
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 6, 2012
Submitted by: Shuttle Momma from Norway, Me

Mistaken for Mother Earth News , but interesting, none-the-less.I enjoyed the commentary.



5 Star ReviewGreat Information
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 6, 2012
Submitted by: Sue from Wellington, CO

I always like reading Mother Jones Magazine.  Great articles and good information.



5 Star ReviewGood political views
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 6, 2012
Submitted by: Patty from East Stroudsburg, PA

An interesting read.   Well written articles with unbiased opinions. The information is informative and gives both sides.



4 Star ReviewHigh Interest with Variety
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 21, 2012
Submitted by: p from west chester, 0h

Thank you for sending me Mother Jones. It is an informative and enjoyable read.



5 Star ReviewLove the viewpoints presented.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 17, 2012
Submitted by: Upc

Love the viewpoints presented.



4 Star Reviewmother jones is cool magazine
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 16, 2012
Submitted by: jake



5 Star ReviewThis gives me great inside and in-depth analysis.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 16, 2012
Submitted by: Bev from Olympia, WA



5 Star Review
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 16, 2012
Submitted by: anonymous

Great!



5 Star ReviewPlenty to think about
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 10, 2012
Submitted by: Marge

I had always heard about this magazine, but now I actually read it. It has a variety of articles about topics of interest to me. They are carefully researched and presented. I actually have to think when I read this magazine, and it takes more than a few minutes to read, unlike many modern magazines.



4 Star ReviewWell Written!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 10, 2012
Submitted by: Papa Ken from Hugo, MN

Mother Jones is a well-written, mild-mannered, and cogent progressive magazine that I enjoy reading.



5 Star ReviewThe magazine with the news that is fit to print
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, August 10, 2012
Submitted by: retired advocate from Jefferson City, Mo

Mother Jones does a very good job with investigating reporting of the news. I can  count on getting indepth information on issues of importance to working Americans. Mother Jones has gained the respect of people who want to know the truth in the news.



5 Star ReviewMother Jones is Superb!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, July 14, 2012
Submitted by: Mavornin from Dearborn Hts, MI

Excellent! Informative!  Enjoyable!



5 Star ReviewExcellent journalism!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, July 10, 2012
Submitted by: bleedingheart617 from Wauwatosa, Wi

Fearless and uncompromising articles with more than a bit of tongue-in-cheek humor.



5 Star Review
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, July 10, 2012
Submitted by: dug

Well written articles which can be applied to contemporary living.



4 Star Reviewan interesting political magazine
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, May 1, 2012
Submitted by: jenwood from Portland, pa

I enjoy the magazine and the articles are timely.



3 Star Reviewthis is an interesting magazine that puts forth some radical and some nonsensical ideas.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, May 1, 2012
Submitted by: nickatnite

I took this magazine because I was curious to see other perspectives. While there is some value to having outrageous ideas put forth, it at times seems thoughtlessly anti-society.



3 Star Reviewgood whistleblower articles
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 24, 2012
Submitted by: michelevermont from Warren, OH

I greatly enjoy the stories they publish, however it's a shame they resort to vulgar language to get their point across.  It diminishes their impact and credibility.  People who disagree  will tune out people who cannot be objective and decent.



5 Star ReviewThis gives good information
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, March 20, 2012
Submitted by: Marie from Stevens Point, WI

I haven't read the entire magazine as I have been overly busy.  Have it stashed near my desk to read it later.



4 Star ReviewMother Jones
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, January 28, 2012
Submitted by: artsy from Colebrook, NH

Glad to have the opportunity to get a fresh slant on our current social and political issues.



5 Star ReviewMake Your Mammy Proud
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, January 25, 2012
Submitted by: Middle School Rulz! from La Conner, Wa

It is refreshing to be given a truthful yet unvarnished depiction of reality rather than the pablum of corporate drival that is being passed off as "news".  Mother Jones tells it like it is, exposes both the banal and the brutal with skill and finess. Yet Mother Jones presents a hopeful and optimistic outlook because if  we don't believe that "we the people" remember that "e pluribus unum" dictates that we set a course for the future based on reason and fact then why get out of bed in the morning?



5 Star ReviewThe antidote to Fox News
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, January 24, 2012
Submitted by: Robyn from Billings, MT

Great articles!



5 Star ReviewEnlightening Information
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, January 24, 2012
Submitted by: Enlightened John from Wilmington, De

I have been aware of your Magazine since it's inception. In 1974 while living in Marin County I was approached by Margo St.James who solicited my interest as a possible early investor in Mother Jones Magazine. I wish now that I had invested in the undertaking. There have been cutting edge investigative enlightening articles published in Mother Jones over the 35 years that I have not seen in any other magazine.



4 Star ReviewA little radical
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 27, 2011
Submitted by: Pat from Omaha, NE

A little radical but needed.  Another voice for the news of the regular media.  Not always completely fair but who is?



5 Star Reviewelephant and pig abuse as reported in the November-December issue
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 8, 2011
Submitted by: syd from doylestown, Pa

I am a great admirer of Mother Jones but I was in anger tempted to cancel to cancel my subscription.Something I never do and think people foolish who do.I also do not object to hunters rights and yes I eat meat

I t is the lies of these autonomous government agencies that I object to .

In my first issue this time around ( NOV_DEC issue),I found an article condemning the abuse of elephants at Ringlin Brothers circus good -right?

On the last page(72) the story "This little piggy is toast" is neither funny or in good taste.It is is not worthy Of mother Jones.

since 1987 I  and the Tyler Committe Against Park Hunts have protested a  deer hunt in tyler Park-which was not wanted by the local community but authorized by the Pennsylvania  Dept of conservation and Natural resources and the game Commission. who own the park..Everytime these bureacrats open another park to promote hunting,they use the same arguements -it never varies - the whole ecological system will be ruined if what they want to hunt is not killed.The fact that there never has been a comprehensive study of the parks does not bother them

The page 72   story not only embraced the bureacrats unfounded claims  but there was somethig  gross and gruesome  at the authors glee in killing and preparing the pig 

I How can the magazine in good conscience justify  critisizing elephant abuse and  accepting the pig story- in the same issue?



5 Star ReviewThis is a true labor magazine!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, October 7, 2011
Submitted by: rod from Indianapolis, In

Anyone interested in receiving an unfiltered view for pro-labor positions should read Mother Jones.



5 Star ReviewInvestigative journalism at it's best.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 5, 2011
Submitted by: Chrissy

Tried and true investigative journalism.  I have been reading this muckraking magazine for years and it never disappoints! 



5 Star ReviewLove this magazine
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, March 22, 2011
Submitted by: shelley from franklin, nc



5 Star ReviewThis is a great magazine.
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, March 15, 2011
Submitted by: David from Rifle, CO

Analysis is right on.  Information is accurate and necessary.



1 Star ReviewUnusual Perspective
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, March 8, 2011
Submitted by: Charleroi

Interesting viewpoints but a little too far out there for me.



4 Star Reviewjust the facts...
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, February 5, 2011
Submitted by: max from StLouis Park, MN

It is good to have the truth about what is going on...and the reason i know it is the truth, is that the "news media" tales do not "add up" over time.

The "news media" is controlled by five monopolies, who are doing a very good job of brain-washing the American public.



4 Star Reviewusually read it from cover to cover!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, January 4, 2011
Submitted by: ellie from charlottesville, VA

Not many magazines grab me enough to read them from cover to cover.  I am not someone who keeps up with every little political or current event, but with Mother Jones I feel that I have an idea about what is going on in the world.  Most of it being scary and some just plain dumbfounding that humans could knowingly do those things to each other.  Mother Jones helps me keep up with the current political tidbits but doesn't confuse the issue.  Straight up reporting....Got to love it!



4 Star ReviewExcellent variety of critical issues to Americans covered!
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 20, 2010
Submitted by: Al from Tubac, AZ

I enjoy the wide, but critical issues that confront todays American Citizen and presented in a manner that most of us can comprehend!



4 Star ReviewCurrent issues
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, April 20, 2010
Submitted by: Jo from St. Louis, MO

Timely, interesting and excellent source of information not readily available elsewhere.



5 Star ReviewGreat investigative reports
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 8, 2008
Submitted by: Manja from Groton, CT

Wonderful and informative



4 Star Review"Frankly Speaking''
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, September 9, 2008
Submitted by: Kirk from Aztec, nm

LIving with a women who is super sensative to womens issues has made me most aware of these things and I like the Mother Jones approach. Tough, but fair and thats the way all news should be reported, but it ain't !! I like your efforts. D.K.Tracy



5 Star ReviewMother Jones has the best investigative reporting around
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, January 5, 2008
Submitted by: Pam



5 Star ReviewThis is a fantastic progressive magazine
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: brian from Honolulu, HI

Journalists for Mother Jones are what most journalists used to be like, fair, investigative, and tough. They ask the tough questions and dig a lot deeper than other news sources. The more Americans that read Mother Jones would translate into a informed citizenry. That would be dangerous for those in power.



4 Star ReviewA great magazine with a different view on important issues
A review of Mother Jones Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Shay from Costa Mesa, CA

Mother Jones magazine is an excellent source for in-depth coverage on important issues of our times. They do a great job covering the environment and political issues using an informative and non-mainstream media approach...trying to relay the truth and presenting both sides. This magazine is the choice for those who want to learn and come to their own conclusions based on more than one perspective. There is also an eclectic sense to the mag in their coverage of music and cultural events, art and literature. A very well-rounded and essential magazine!

Write a ReviewBack to TopGo Back
Find a magazine fast!
  Quick Magazine Search:

Hot Magazine Categories   All Magazine Categories

Special Magazine Deals

Combo Offers

New Magazines

Gift Giving:

Magazine Gift Ideas

Magazine Gift Certificates

Free Gift Cards

Search Alphabetically:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N
O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
  All Magazines

Search by Discount Magazine Price:

Under $10
$10 to $15
$15 to $20
$20 to $25

   $25 to $30
   $30 to $40
   $40 and up
Discount Magazines Subscriptions Make A Great Gift - MagazineLine
Magazine Subscription Deals And Benefits - MagazineLine