Magazineline Homepage
Discount Magazines Make a Great Gift - MagazineLine
Customer Service
About MagazineLine



this MagazineAll Customer Reviews for:
this Magazine


Average Customer Rating:

3 Star Rating
Write a ReviewGo Back



1 Star ReviewUnbalanced
A review of this Magazine, September 13, 2012
Submitted by: BaltimoreHon from Baltimore, MD

After not subscribing for many years, I tried Newsweek again. It is shamelessley liberal and unbalanced. I can get all that junk from MSNBC. No thanks Newsweek!



1 Star ReviewThe latest issue is a blatant rehash of Fox News talking points
A review of this Magazine, August 23, 2012
Submitted by: G. Meyer from Duluth, MN

I was a bit surprised and taken aback by the inflammatory "The First Gay President" cover story a few weeks ago, but this week's issue crossed the line. "Hit the Road Barack" offers no balanced, qualified criticism of the President's first term but instead attempts to take-down the President with faulty straw man arguments. The article fails to mention the Republican intransigence that prevented or watered down the majority of the Presidents policies, and instead points to tired statistics of the national deficit growing and the tepid jobs recovery. Any college student that's taken Macroeconomics will tell you that you should take those figures with a grain of salt considering we're the world's largest economy digging it's way out of the biggest hole since the great depression. I will be cancelling my subscription immediately and telling anyone who will listen how far "Fox Newsweek" has fallen.



4 Star ReviewOn a par with Time Magazine
A review of this Magazine, August 23, 2012
Submitted by: Running Ron from Oregon City, OR

Newsweek is an excellent source of news and new commentary and is at least as well written and informative as its major competitor(Time Magazine).



2 Star ReviewHit the Road Barrack/Niall Ferguson
A review of this Magazine, August 22, 2012
Submitted by: Juanita from Bailey, CO

Why is this issue no where to be found. We have had friends and family check news stands across the country including Alaska. The person who stocks our local new stand said he was not given any copies of Newsweek this week. Looks to us that the Obama Administraion has squashed your first ammendment rights. Janet/Dave HB, CO



1 Star ReviewNewsweek has deteriorated
A review of this Magazine, August 20, 2012
Submitted by: Shirl from Beavercreek, OH

After the nasty cover by the arrogant Mr Niall Ferguson on why President Obama should go, we are cancelling our subscription to Newsweek. The money saved will go to President Obama's re-election campaign. This cover story was the last straw !



1 Star ReviewMost negativity of any publication I've ever read!
A review of this Magazine, August 6, 2012
Submitted by: Kit

We subscribed to TIME for several years, but because of their political leanings, decided to try a different magazine - Newsweek.  Awful! It seemed like almost everything cover-to-cover was negative and critical.  Hardly a good word about anybody or anything. We were so disappointed that we are cancelling after only 4 isues.  We didn't always agree with TIME, but they at least were positive and upbeat about a lot of things. No more Loseweek for us.



3 Star Reviewlosing focus slowly
A review of this Magazine, August 3, 2012
Submitted by: azadrian

Newsweek was always the hip version of Time magazine. Now its just a cross between People magazine and a weak news magazine.



4 Star ReviewThe best news magazine
A review of this Magazine, June 12, 2012
Submitted by: Anna Lee from Amity, PA

I like newsweek because it gives the news I miss on TV.



5 Star ReviewThis magazine has the best variety of news articles.
A review of this Magazine, April 10, 2012
Submitted by: AJO from Bismarck, ND

I like a magazine that has a variety of articles and not just all politics which I find in other magazines I receive.   I was very pleased with the variety Newsweek has to offer and I would renew it again. 

AJO



5 Star ReviewGood alternative to Time Magazine
A review of this Magazine, April 10, 2012
Submitted by: Michael

 For the last 30 years we were getting Time magazine.

I read a copy of Newsweek in a doctor's waiting room so I decided to change.

Both magazines are good...but sometimes change is nice.  This was one of those times.

 



1 Star ReviewFor those who can't think for themselves
A review of this Magazine, January 18, 2012
Submitted by: Chris from Winston-Salem, NC

Newsweek articles are so biased toward the political left that they are worthless as a source of impartial information.  Instead of wasting money on this rag, just go on the internet and read editorials of The New York Times or The Washington Post.  You'll get the same slanted viewpoints, but they are free.  No wonder that the magazine's operations can't break even, and the business was recently sold for just $1.



5 Star ReviewIt is a very good source of political events in world.
A review of this Magazine, December 27, 2011
Submitted by: slv14536 from St. Louis, MO

From my point of view this magazine has concentrated around four very impotant topics:

(a) Presidential compagn in USA

(b) Social events in the World

(c) Individuals whose activity has an important social role.

(d) US and Global Economical Processes.



3 Star ReviewNot like the old Newsweek
A review of this Magazine, December 19, 2011
Submitted by: plee from Franklin, NC

Newsweek used to be my all time favorite news magazine, but I let the subscription lapse and had not read it for several years. I took advantage of the offer, but I'm really not that happy with the revamped format. I would like to be specific, but I just feel that the reporting is not as good as it was several years ago. A rival news magazine is more readable now.



5 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, November 15, 2011
Submitted by: yankeejimmyt from Jerome, ID

Informative, great writing,keeps you up to date on current events.



3 Star ReviewShould have stayed with time
A review of this Magazine, November 9, 2011
Submitted by: Carlos from Los Angeles, CA

Not on par with time. The articles aren't current with world events, well i shouldn't say always but i found that the articles written weren't appealing to me and didn't vie my interest.



5 Star ReviewThe Ying magazine for Time's Yang
A review of this Magazine, September 11, 2011
Submitted by: Steve from New Albany, IN

While the cover can be outrageous, the material inside looks at the week's events with unique (fresh and exciting) point of view. Matched with a subscription to Time, the reader of both will have a deeper understanding of the week's events in the news. Newsweek has a daring approach that may not be for all, but I find it a refreshing read every week.



1 Star ReviewAn athiestic, communistic,piece of yellow journalism
A review of this Magazine, August 16, 2011
Submitted by: Seneca

    This magazine is everything an AMERICAN magazine should NOT be. It is anti-Christian, anti-Democracy, and plain anti-American. It would be better suited printed in China. I will NEVER again subscribe to this piece of trash. I rate it NO STARS. But you require at least one.



1 Star ReviewOne sided Liberal/Progressive.
A review of this Magazine, August 9, 2011
Submitted by: Me

If you want one sided news casting and are a Liberal/Progressive this rag will make you elated.  After reading one article you will problaly get that Hopey Changey feeling.



1 Star ReviewNothing more than a tabloid
A review of this Magazine, August 8, 2011
Submitted by: Gatrdave from Orono, ME

The great newsmagazine that was once Newsweek is now just a skinny rag offshoot of the online Daily Beast. The former streamlined format of simple sections and one-page columns has been replaced by a disjointed mess of pictures and People-style pieces dumbed down for the masses they think they'll be getting from reading the hodgepodge mess of their tabloid site. There are a few long stories that give detail and depth to the issues they're covering, but over all The Daily Beast has left it's stinky mark on this once great magazine. It's time for me to move on to Time.



2 Star ReviewLess news more like People
A review of this Magazine, July 19, 2011
Submitted by: dd



1 Star ReviewA Failed Magazine
A review of this Magazine, July 11, 2011
Submitted by: white oak from Greensboro, NC

Newsweek is such a flop with readers that the entire magazine business was sold for $1.  Its articles are predictably biased toward the political left, and simply regurgitate liberal talking points.  No wonder its readership has taken a big dive during the last decade.  If you want to gain a true understanding of American politics and culture, look elsewhere.



5 Star ReviewNewsweek 2011
A review of this Magazine, February 22, 2011
Submitted by: Mary from Boise, ID

Excellent articles, excellent price!



1 Star ReviewNot as I remember it.
A review of this Magazine, October 20, 2010
Submitted by: jan_jan from NW, OH

It's been quite a few years since I've had a Newsweek subscription.  I am very disappointed in it, and will not order again.



5 Star ReviewGood political coverage.
A review of this Magazine, August 31, 2010
Submitted by: Linda from San Diego, CA

Reports are well written, timely, and easy to read. I bought this for my husband, but we both enjoy the articles.



4 Star ReviewGood Information
A review of this Magazine, August 18, 2010
Submitted by: Jada's Mom

It is a good magazines.



5 Star ReviewThis is the best weekly news magazine.
A review of this Magazine, July 3, 2010
Submitted by: Deborah from Honolulu, HI

As news magazines fight for subscribers in a changing media market, I find Newsweek's new format of delivering weekly news reports the best way to remain informed. The empahsis on analysis of major themes in the U.S. and the world keep the reader informed about major issues and varying points of view. I will continue to read it because of its superior political, economic, cultural and scientific essays. I hope its high quality of news delivery will be maintained.



2 Star ReviewLost ITS Guts.
A review of this Magazine, June 14, 2010
Submitted by: The Age of Wisdom from Scottsdale, AZ

 I  agree with a number of your Reviewers. I cancelled my subscription  4 or 5 mnonths ago. because I  too felt It lost its guts when the,  whoever, changed  to a formate of less interest to it's readership. Probably  to save a few bucks.

I subsequently, went to Time and found   that Rag is less then satisfying .  And by the by----, Both have in creased the Yearly fee and offer less and less.



5 Star ReviewThis magazine keeps me informed.
A review of this Magazine, April 28, 2010
Submitted by: Sharon from Lansing, MI

Newsweek gives me indepth information about important issues in the country.  It helps me stay informed and provides more depth than I can get from the daily news coverage. 



1 Star ReviewNewsweek has become a Neofascist yellow rag
A review of this Magazine, April 5, 2010
Submitted by: Brig from Old Washington, Oh

I have lost all respect for Newsweek. It is anti-American, Anti-God, Socialist propaganda and would be better served in Cuba. It has lost all balance in its reporting. It leans so far left it is on its side. America does not need Newsweek. I certainly do not need Newsweek. I changed to NewsMax.



5 Star ReviewWeek after week, the cover stories are interesting
A review of this Magazine, March 25, 2010
Submitted by: Tom from Boulder, CO

I find myself dropping everything to read the cover story when I get the magazine out of the mailbox. The articles are incredibly well-written, well-researched, and are the perfect length.



1 Star ReviewIt used to be a good magazine
A review of this Magazine, February 26, 2010
Submitted by: Stan from Mountain Home, AR

NewsWeek used to be the best weekly news magazine. I have been a subscriber for 35 consecutive years. I used to read it to get the inside stories about what is happening in the news. Since they changed it 9 months ago it is now mostly about the inside stories about things I couldn't care less about. I only keep reading it now because I already have a paid subscription for it. I will not renew my subscription when it runs out in March unless it gets better.



2 Star ReviewHas become a disappointment
A review of this Magazine, February 16, 2010
Submitted by: Pete from Southampton, Pa

Newsweek has become simply a series of essays from people. I don't want your opinion, I want the news. 



1 Star ReviewObama propaganda rag
A review of this Magazine, February 7, 2010
Submitted by: political junkie from gig harbor, wa

It wouldn't be so bad if they stopped pretending to be a "news" magazine.



4 Star ReviewGreat Magazine with Interesting Topics
A review of this Magazine, February 3, 2010
Submitted by: Karen from Boulder, CO

I'm enjoying Newsweek more than I thought I would.  The articles are just about the right length and the format makes sense to me.  They cover topics that are really interesting, not just dry news.  The ads are annoying but without them there would be no magazine, right?



2 Star ReviewTotally ruined a good publication
A review of this Magazine, January 11, 2010
Submitted by: doggone

The "new"version of Newsweek is one step away from totally doing away with the publication.  When you can't quickly figure out what is a story and what is advertisement, the end is near.



5 Star ReviewBeyond the Blurbs
A review of this Magazine, June 23, 2009
Submitted by: Bibliomaniac from Eureka, CA

The latest issue of Newsweek so far outdoes the old version. Looking forward to each issue filled with thoughtful essays on topics I need to know about. How did I live without it! Great coverage and fine writing.



5 Star ReviewNewsweek
A review of this Magazine, June 23, 2009
Submitted by: mo

very good, we are enjoying the magazine, thank-you, monique



2 Star ReviewNewsweek Has Changed--I'm Switching to Time!
A review of this Magazine, June 23, 2009
Submitted by: Yosemite Kurt from Davis, CA

While there is still some decent content here, the changes are not good, in my opinion, and even the font size has been reduced to where it is really hard to see.  Sorry Newsweek, I've been a subscriber for years, but you've lost it.  Good luck!



4 Star ReviewLonger stories carry power
A review of this Magazine, June 22, 2009
Submitted by: Ed from Dallas, TX

Stories in the new format often run longer, and they carry more impact.  I miss the cartoons and quotes, and I especially miss Anna Quindlan, but she was retiring anyway. 

Newsweek isn't Time.  I find myself wishing the magazine were longer.  I have renewed already, and I hope they get ads and can carry more stories.



1 Star ReviewSometimes Change is for the Worst
A review of this Magazine, June 20, 2009
Submitted by: Cancelled After 15 Years from White Sulphur Springs, WV

Newsweek recently changed from a fine news magazine to a collection of undergraduate journalism school essays.  They even  hired a comic as a guest editor, leaving them with no journalistic integrity at all.  I've cancelled by subscription - it's now just a waste of trees.



1 Star ReviewDisappointed with changes to Newsweek.
A review of this Magazine, June 18, 2009
Submitted by: Pete

I subscribed to the "old" Newsweek for many years.  I find the new format just doesn't grab my interest.  While we live in a culture of change, Newsweek's  change is disappointing.



1 Star Reviewthe new format IS AWFUL
A review of this Magazine, June 12, 2009
Submitted by: Rufus

I've been a loyal Newsweek reader for years.  The new format is little more than a collection of blogs by people of whom you may have heard.  Newsweek will NOT be getting my money in the future.



1 Star ReviewPoor Reporting of News
A review of this Magazine, June 11, 2009
Submitted by: Penny

What a mistake!  We changed from Time to Newsweek just as they changed the magazine.  We are totally dissatisfied!  Certainly will not renew!



1 Star ReviewIf it isn't broken, leave it alone.
A review of this Magazine, June 9, 2009
Submitted by: Snoopy from Louisville, KY

"If it isn't broken, leave it alone" The new format is terrible and most of my favorite sections are gone.



2 Star ReviewTOO EXPENSIVE!!
A review of this Magazine, May 9, 2009
Submitted by: jcharley from PA, CA

Use to be cheaper than Time, Business Week, etc., but they have nearly Douvled their "Discount" rate.  I will wait for the price to come back down to a reasonable level...



4 Star ReviewNewsprint is better than Digital!
A review of this Magazine, May 5, 2009
Submitted by: RJ from Midway, AR

My wife and I enjoy your wide range of coverage. We may be naive but we haven't detected a political slant to your articles, aka fairness issue.  We were long-term readers of US News & World Report but they lost us when they went  monthly  on the magazine, and offered weekly news via personal computer. We like a magazine one can pick up and lay down; like reading a book. Stay with your format, please.



5 Star ReviewKeeps me up to date and is so much better than Time!
A review of this Magazine, May 4, 2009
Submitted by: Gloria Vogel from Vero Beach, FL



4 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, April 22, 2009
Submitted by: Kathy from Tumwater, WA

I enjoy the magazine but frankly I don't think they are very objective in their reporting. There's an awful lot of opinion expressed in articles.



3 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, April 7, 2009
Submitted by: pete

I would not pay $40.00 a year for Newsweek.



1 Star ReviewI'll never subscribe to Newsweek Again.
A review of this Magazine, April 6, 2009
Submitted by: Brig from Old Washington, Oh

   A news magazine is supposed to give both sides to a story. Newsweek feels they know everything and that their side is the ONLY side. If you are an Athiest, Socialist, Anti-American, anti-second admendment, pro-baby killer then this is the magazine for you: God help you. I had to give it a star; but it does not deserve one.



5 Star ReviewOne of the finest News eeklys and with my busy schedule keeps me up to date on todays's top issues.
A review of this Magazine, March 31, 2009
Submitted by: Rick from Dayton, WA

I wanted to subscribe to one ofthe top news weeklys.  You came along with th best offer for Newsweek and I couldn't pass it up.  I have a very busy schedule and so not subscribe to a daily newspaper, so I rely onmy News Weekly to keep me abreast ofall of the top/hot issues of the week.



1 Star ReviewThis is the most liberal magazine I've read...it's an insult.
A review of this Magazine, March 24, 2009
Submitted by: lyn from Frankfort, IL

This magazine has offended me for the last time. I am unsubscribing to Newsweek as of right now. They are not only so ubbelievably liberal but they have offended my pope as well. I refuse to read anything this trashy magazine has to say anymore. The articles are slanted and so against Republicans and Pro-lifers. Obama could do no wrong as far as they are concerned. Well, they have wronged me!



4 Star ReviewIntelligent Minds Want o know...
A review of this Magazine, March 10, 2009
Submitted by: Mari from Hoboken, NJ

Newsweek is a weekly informative summation of the political, social and cultural agendas involving our nation and it's relations with neighboring countries.  It portrays a balanced detail of events with varying insight into the minds of our nations leader's, medical progress as well as current events. LOVE IT!



5 Star ReviewBig picture news analysis
A review of this Magazine, March 10, 2009
Submitted by: Tiara

Beautiful pictures, in-depth analysis of news events.



2 Star ReviewThe move from print to picture
A review of this Magazine, March 9, 2009
Submitted by: LV from Chapel Hill, NC

Because of 24 hour news and the internet I have already cancelled my newspaper subscription, feeling like a Judas.

I fear that will soon be the case for Newsweek as it has already been for Time.  The magazine is already shrinking.  I am old and remember magazines at the best of times and worst of times.

Things change.  It makes me very very sad.

 



5 Star ReviewProbably the best news maqgazine
A review of this Magazine, March 3, 2009
Submitted by: Art from Colonial Heights, VA



2 Star Reviewget your brain cells ready, you'll need them
A review of this Magazine, February 17, 2009
Submitted by: stay at home mom

I ordered Newsweek to be more educated on the news but it is a hard read.  It is not a leisure activity to read newsweek and the topics are very heavy too. 



4 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, February 17, 2009
Submitted by: Ravi

Good articles of interest.



5 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, February 10, 2009
Submitted by: Sara

Newsweek is interesting as well as informative. I love the CW section.



5 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, January 27, 2009
Submitted by: John from Tucson, AZ

I really enjoy the writers, reporters and layout of your magazine. My favorite writer is Anna Quindlen and I look forward to her two articles each month.



4 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, January 27, 2009
Submitted by: amadalee

That's good!



1 Star ReviewOne of the most biased magazines on the market
A review of this Magazine, January 12, 2009
Submitted by: Bill from Old Washington, Oh

   If I could've given a no stars, I would have. I'll never subscribe to this magazine again. Its a total libral, socialist, piece of yellow journalism. News magazines should be about fair play. Newsweek is totally one sided. So if you are a libral, socialist , athiest Democrat you should love it. I don't.



1 Star ReviewThis years subscription is the last
A review of this Magazine, December 29, 2008
Submitted by: Bill from Old Washington, Oh

   Newsweek has become the magazine for left wing libral athiests. Their (news????) content has become so one sided that I cannot stand them anymore. Newsweek is outright unamerican. I only wish I could have rated it NO stars.



3 Star ReviewNewsweek is not what I had hoped.
A review of this Magazine, December 16, 2008
Submitted by: Jan

I am a little disappointed in the magazine. It's very different from the Newsweek I subscribed to years ago. I would probably not renew based on the above and the huge raise in price. Maybe another news magazine....



5 Star ReviewSolid
A review of this Magazine, December 16, 2008
Submitted by: Muji from Omaha, NE

I am very impressed with the quality of the writing in Newsweek. I wish I had subscribed a long time ago.



1 Star ReviewBiased magazine selling itself as fair-minded news magazine
A review of this Magazine, December 9, 2008
Submitted by: newsfreak

I was very displeased with Newsweek magazine. I was under the impression that it was a fair-minded news magazine. After reading one month's worth of issues, I discovered that I was wrong. Newsweek is a very left-leaning biased publication that  actually contains more fluff and opinion than hard hitting news. I would say it is more like the National Enquirer than a news magazine. What is happening to our news media? Obviously  what is taught as journalism today is not what was taught years ago.  Newsweek can keep producing this magazine but this is one person that won't be buying what they are selling. I have to put a plug in here for Magazine Line. I called today to cancel my subscription and they gave me a prompt refund of my money with no questions asked. I will definitely use them in the future.



5 Star ReviewThis is a great news magazine
A review of this Magazine, December 9, 2008
Submitted by: autmomma3

This news magazine is very insightful and gives both sides of the story for the most part. Very informative and up-to-date articles giving you the info you need to make an informed decision!



3 Star ReviewNewsweeks pile up
A review of this Magazine, November 18, 2008
Submitted by: Lucy from Spartanburg, SC

Tend to take to office lobby or recycle bin before read.



5 Star ReviewGood coverage
A review of this Magazine, November 17, 2008
Submitted by: Patrick

Overall, great coverage of today's news, doesn't have the conservative "spin" that publications such as US News have.



5 Star ReviewA wonderful, factual newsread!
A review of this Magazine, November 7, 2008
Submitted by: italiasubito

Newsweek is a wonderful, magazine and it was an awesome price for the quantity! i'll definately resubscribe when the time comes 



5 Star ReviewNews Week Review
A review of this Magazine, October 28, 2008
Submitted by: Ataway from Ottumwa, Ia

The News Week magazine is excellent because it is filled with pertinent information regarding events that are happening in our world right now. The information is factual and unbiased. I am very happy with my subscription for News Week.



4 Star ReviewA good source of information.
A review of this Magazine, October 21, 2008
Submitted by: Rod from Bradenton, FL

Good information ,good news  too liberal in my oppinion .



3 Star ReviewMuch too liberal
A review of this Magazine, October 21, 2008
Submitted by: A from Ann Arbor, MI

Title says it all.



5 Star ReviewThe weekly politics in a nutshell
A review of this Magazine, September 30, 2008
Submitted by: JT from Kalamazoo, MI

This magazine will not be interesting to all. There are not cool pictures or scented designer perfume pages...But, there are however very, very good opinions and facts on our countries policies and their makers. Look no further for your weekly news, Newsweek has you and America covered.



4 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, August 27, 2008
Submitted by: ZJ from Chicago, IL

Good



5 Star Reviewa very informative magizine
A review of this Magazine, August 14, 2008
Submitted by: Bud from Crocker, Mo

You guys obviously do your homework! I enjoy reading your magazine and look forward to every issue. Sometimes when I look for my magazine at home, I can't find it. Either my wife or one of my college aged daughters have snatched it up to enjoy reading it. Thanks



5 Star Reviewsmart magazine
A review of this Magazine, August 7, 2008
Submitted by: bigred from southampton, pa

to whom it may concern: i am a new subscriber to newsweek and i am very satisfied with the magazine. i used to buy it at the store and it was so much more expensive than buying a subscription,so i only bought it once in a while. i see some of the writers from the magazine as guests on msnbc  and they talk a little about the articles they have written .now i can read the articles they have written because i ordered newsweek. thanks for the opportunity.being disabled and  confined to the home i can still be informed with what's going on in the world .thanx again bigredgranny@yahoo.com



1 Star ReviewOlbermann/Newsweek
A review of this Magazine, June 24, 2008
Submitted by: No liberal from Oil City, Pa

Keith Olbermann is the scum of cable talk shows.  He has no sense of fair play.  He does 4 things every night.  Blasting Bush, bad mouthing McCain, taking cheap shots at Fox News, and glorifying Obama.  This kind of journalism is totally unacceptable and not worthy of watching.  Newsweek is in the same category as MSNBC - totally liberal and not balanced.  If Newswek cannot find anything better than to push only liberal views and not present balanced reporting that magazine will never enter the door of my house again.  O'Reilly is right.  Newsweek and MSNBC is the worst example of honest journalism.



4 Star Reviewhaters
A review of this Magazine, June 20, 2008
Submitted by: get umm

i think everyone who a negative view for the magazine are just sour republicans who know that no one really favors their political view the magazine just report what is favorable to its readers and the people on a whole and this is coming from a reviewer who takes no sides



1 Star ReviewBIASED TOWARDS OBAMA
A review of this Magazine, May 28, 2008
Submitted by: dANNG

NEARLY EVERY ISSUE IN THE PAST FEW MONTHS HAS FEATURED OBAMA AS COVER ARTICLE. COMPLETELY BIASED NEWS!



5 Star ReviewFun Newsweekly
A review of this Magazine, March 30, 2008
Submitted by: Magazine Reader from Tallahassee, FL

I like how Newsweek will have a serious political cover one week and the next week the cover story might be about something to do with Pop Culture or fun.  It is never boring and that is why it is the only newsweekly I have ever renewed consistently. 



1 Star ReviewCW - Newsweek Has Lost its Punch
A review of this Magazine, January 13, 2008
Submitted by: CW

Look at the Conventional Wisdom section every week and they will usually have a negative for President Bush, they can't seem to find anything more interesting to talk about.  Definitly a liberal bias without a great deal of information.



1 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, December 12, 2007
Submitted by: Charlie from EXcelsior Springs,, MO

I do not plan to renew my subscription to Newsweek when it expires and may do it soner.  The magazine has become far too biased in its reporting for my taste.  Why does a publication like Newsweek take on a mission of any kind in the political world.  The liberal bias is obnoxious and awful.  Something is wrong with the management of this magazine.  How about simply reporting the news?!



5 Star ReviewTopnotch Weekly News Magazine
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: Pam from LIncoln from Lincoln, NE

Newsweek keeps me aware of what's happening in the world and exposes me to some of the best columnists, reviewers and political cartoonists in the business.  Newsweek packages the world and sends it to me every week.



4 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: dms from Gallowya, NJ

I enjoy the details on salient issues. More importantly, they also print positions that fly in the face of the liberal-dominated media.



4 Star ReviewThis is the best newsweekly
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: Craig from Altus AFB, OK

This is one of my favorite magazines.  Everytime I finish reading it I always feel more informed about the events occuring in this country and in this world.  It's informative, expertly written, and easy to understand. 



4 Star Review"Outstanding Columnists on national & international issues"
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: Dick from Duluth, MN

NEWSWEEK features some of the most respected analysis of political issues by Jonathan Alter, Fareed Zakaria, Sharon Begley, Michael Isikoff, John Meacham, Howard Fineman and Eleanor Clift to name a few who are nationally respected. Though I rarely agree with conservative columnist George Will, and I would probably never agree with some of the guest conservative writers, Newseek attempts to offer a balanced view. 



4 Star ReviewThis is my best news Magazine.
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: joseph T from Brooklyn, NY

I get Newsweek and time from student mag. You people are great. I love the editorials and political cartoons.



5 Star ReviewThis is the best news magazine.
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: HP Fan from Lubbock, TX

This is the news magazine to go to for a variety of news topics.  Next to the daily paper, this is where I get my information on news that interests me.



3 Star ReviewA so-so news magazine
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: Ulf from Indianapolis, IN

Newsweek has been struggling with a decline in readership, like its competitors, and it shows, as it is desperately seeking to please readers.  While it still provides decent coverage of national issues and trends, its coverage of world affairs is now pretty dismal.  Apparently, the world surrounding America now consists of Iraq, and, on occasion, Israel.  Compared with other sources of world news such as The Economist, National Public Radio, the BBC and, even, the average daily newspaper in America, Newsweek does not receive a passing grade.



5 Star ReviewA Tuesday must read
A review of this Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: Annie

I have subscribed for decades, as I feel this is the news magazine most likely to present issues fairly and in a timely, professional and informed manner.  There is also a bit of humor and whimsy now and then.  I don't avail myself of the website--just have my good read.



5 Star ReviewI give Newsweek a 5 because it covers an eclectic variety of topics from political events to pop culture!
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Maggie from Glassboro, NJ

I love this magazine! It keeps me updated with the world outside my busy school life, everything from political events all over the world, to quirky bits of information that make you feel like you know a little something interesting! I don't know what kind of nutshell I'd be living in if I didn't read this magazine...



5 Star ReviewFor many years we have taken this . .that is the highest recommendation I can provide.
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: NA from Coupeville, WA

A lengthy review is not necessary, in my opinion, for my subscription over time  is indication it is supply the right informatiion in the right  for . . .in a most timely fashion.  EDITORS and policy makers change but the quality has maintained the highest level . . . in a timely fashion.   ENOUGH SAID!

GWL



4 Star ReviewA good choice for a weekly newsmagazine
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Hal Bass from Porter Ranch, CA

A well-written, carefully researched weekly newsmagazine, which compares favorably to Time both in coverage and price. I've been reading both magazines for many years and am impressed with the strides Newsweek has made. In addition, the magazine's regular columnists include Anna Quindlen, Karl Rove, George Will and Fareed Zakaria.



4 Star ReviewGood weekly news
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Gwen from Bean Station, TN

Newsweek gives a good weekly summary of national and worldwide news. 



5 Star ReviewNewsweek: 5 stars!
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: BethK from Bainbridge Island, WA

I have been a subscriber to Newsweek for over 25 years and continue to enjoy its overall coverage. This magazine emphasizes social, environmental, health, national and international issues all of which are important to me.  The articles are well researched and laid out with emphasis on readability.  I highly recommend it to others with similar interests.



5 Star ReviewBest All-Around Magazine
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Kate from Davis, CA

Newsweek provides our family with intriguing, well-written articles on important topics. Our 14-year-old son also reads the magazine, so it must have an "edge"! We look forward to the delivery of our copy each week.



4 Star ReviewA most informative news magazine with every type of news
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: LJ from Merrimac, MA

Newsweek is well-organized and knowledgable of the latest world, national and local news stories. It is also interesting to read the lighter side of life as well as arts and entertainment. The political stories are particularly enjoyable along with the comic takes and quotes of note.  As a weekly, this magazine keeps up with the current events of the world and is a pleasure to read.



4 Star ReviewA newsmagazine and more!
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Lulu from Dahlonega, GA

NEWSWEEK has revolutionized its format in the past year.  Now it not only contains current political, economic, and social news, but it offers comprehenive coverage of medical breakthroughs, offering a group of articles concerning such topics as AGING, or THE HEART in each issue.  Political or foreign policy issues are treated to current news coverage and columns which offer comment or opinion by noted news or political commentators.  I find that as a result, I know more in depth information about specific topics rather than the smattering of information without background provided as was earlier the case.



5 Star Reviewexcellent news
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: hseliger1 from Baltimore, MD



4 Star ReviewGreat magazine, but I hate the loose card inserts
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Chuck from New York, NY

I love Newsweek, they report the news thoroughly and present a fair and balanced approach.  I love reading the magazine every week as it covers such a broad range of topics that lead the news.  After I finish the magazine, I feel as though I am very current on almost everything.

The only thing I wish they would do is STOP INSERTING THOSE LOOSE postcards to resubscribe.  They are so annoying because they fall out on the floor at the most inconvenient times.  I purposely mail them in blank to the magazine so it costs them money, hoping they will stop the annoying practice.  (This is my practice for all magazines I subscribe to.



4 Star Review
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: judy

I don't like the fact that you took the date off the cover.   Now I have to open each magazine to see the date so that I can file it away.  I have every issue of every newsweek for 1968 and now you say it is the year that formed us.  Please put the date back on the cover. 



3 Star Reviewweeklynews
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: bill from peabody, ma

I skim Newsweek every week and read approx. 20 % of the articles.  At times I'll tear out feature articles to save for future reading, since timeliness is not essential with them.  For timely news I rely on all-news radio plus my daily Boston Globe.



5 Star ReviewBest weekly magazine
A review of this Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: N / A

This is the best weekly magazine available.



3 Star ReviewWeekly News Magazine on General Current Events
A review of this Magazine, December 9, 2007
Submitted by: universeincarnate from lansing, MI

Newsweek is a weekly news magazine that covers general current event and contemporary issues.  It is a good addition to nightly news and especially for those who do not pay too much attention to world affairs, as it only scratches the surface of the week's major events.  Relatively balanced and informative,  though hardly in-depth and elementary in readability, I've given it three stars (out of five).



3 Star ReviewNewsweek
A review of this Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: zinester from Muncie, IN

Well, it's a better magazine than Time. but the recent hire of Karl Rove is very disturbing.  He is not a journalist, and doesn't have insightful observations - he is a demagogue, spinning facts to spew hatred and intolerance in the Republican War on America.  It's just like giving a public soapbox to the Grand Wizard of the KKK.  I can forgive a momentary lapse of judgement, but if a second Rove article appears in Newsweek I will move to cancel my subscription.



3 Star ReviewNewsweek mag review
A review of this Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: smartyboots from The Colony, TX

This magazine reminds me of a luke warm version of Time Magazine. There are current events and there are some human interest stories but it fails to hold my attention like the other mag does.



5 Star ReviewA great read for those interested in a variety of news topics
A review of this Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: DWM

Having Newsweek laying around the house helps my family read at our leisure. The lead articles have been detailed enough for a good understanding, but not too long to make an individual not want to get started in the event they only have 15 minutes.



5 Star ReviewIt's a great news magazine
A review of this Magazine, August 21, 2007
Submitted by: Granma Oh from Spokane, WA

I love Newsweek, and have subscribed for 25 years, at least.  It has many weekly features that I look forward to reading.   I especially like a new feature called My Five Most Important Books.  Famous authors and scholars submit their list of favorite and most influential books, and it is very interesting.  The My Turn column, submitted by readers, is also a great read.  The wine reviews and ratings are informative and I never miss letters to the editor.  It is fun to read other people's opinions on articles.   They do a very good job and I enjoy every issue.



5 Star ReviewExcellent news magazine
A review of this Magazine, August 20, 2007
Submitted by: April from Kansas City, MO

I enjoy reading this magazine very much.  The articles are timely and I do not feel they are skewed to one specific side or another.  It is honest reporting.



4 Star Reviewgreat news magazine
A review of this Magazine, July 23, 2007
Submitted by: Ronnie from Jacksonville, FL

I enjoy reading a snap shot of the news or some times a longer article.  I like short articles and NW has plenty of those.  I enjoy MyTurn because they are stories written by average people not professionals.  I also like Perspectives and laugh at those.  I like to read The Tip Sheet & Health Section.Ronnie



4 Star ReviewGood news mag, inferior to Time.
A review of this Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: ben from Winter Park, FL

I like Newsweek, however it is inferior to Time on a couple of levels.  First, the photography is not up to the standards of its competitor.  More importantly, Newsweek's website is basic and mediocre.  By the time a weekly news magazine gets delivered, the news is already a couple of days old.  The website must be an integral part of a person's magazine subscription.  Newsweek hasn't figured this out yet.  Having said this, I'm happy overall with my subscription, journalists, and price.  I plan to renew.



3 Star ReviewThis is a very good news magazine for SOME people
A review of this Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: Kory from San Jose, CA

I've been subscribing to Newsweek Magazine for years, and started because it was a requirement in my high school Government class. One of the flaws about Newsweek is that it does cater to the wealthy upper-class, so there are too many financial stories about stocks and investments. It's a good magazine to get you well-rounded and some entertainment value, but never use it as a reliable news source because Newsweek articles are littered with unnamed sources.



4 Star ReviewNewsweek is alreight
A review of this Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Phil from Flushing, NY

got nothing to add, really



4 Star ReviewNewsworthy Newsweek
A review of this Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: McMoyephy from Alhambra, CA

The news magazine is simply a fun magazine to read.  I especially like the cartoons in the front section, the feature stories, and the colors used thoroughout the pages.

The only part I do not read are the Special editions on health which I believe are not entirely written or prepared by Newsweek staff. Rather, it is more of a show piece for pharmaceutical companies if not paid for in large part by those companies.

Overall, there's a reason why I renewed my subscription for the next five years already.  Action speaks louder than ....

 



5 Star ReviewBest news magazine
A review of this Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Maria N from Birmingham, AL

Newsweek covers political, social and cultural events.  It is a great way of staying informed. 



5 Star ReviewGreat source for national and international news
A review of this Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Andrea B

Newsweek is a great source for staying in touch with current events.  It keeps me knowledgeable across a broad range of topics.  If you are going to read one magazine a weeks, this is one you should consider.



4 Star ReviewA Weekly Snapshot of the World Around Us
A review of this Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Dave M from San Dimas, CA

I have been a Newsweek subscriber for nearly two decades. The magazine does a solid job of covering current events as well as cultural trends and the occasional offbeat story. The writing is engaging and informative and the layout is comparable with Time, which are both better than U.S. News and World Report (whose right-of-center political coverage is a refreshing departure from the other two). The only significant challenge I find with the publication is the left-of-center slant in its political coverage I just alluded to previously. Other than that, it is a good news publication and that helps you keep up with what people are, or should be, talking about.



5 Star ReviewNewsweek is my favorite weekly news magazine.
A review of this Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: SFA 71 from Victoria, TX

I have subscribed to Newsweek for at least 25 years and have always found it to be informative & up to date.



5 Star ReviewThis is the best weekly newsmagazine.
A review of this Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Carl from Charleston, SC

Newsweek provides my family with the latest up-to-date news, highlighted with first class photos and graphics, as well as varied articles and editorials that are profound, humerous, insightful and unbiased.

Write a ReviewBack to TopGo Back

Find a magazine fast!
  Quick Magazine Search:

Hot Magazine Categories   All Magazine Categories

Special Magazine Deals

Combo Offers

New Magazines

Gift Giving:

Magazine Gift Ideas

Magazine Gift Certificates

Free Gift Cards

Search Alphabetically:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N
O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
  All Magazines

Search by Discount Magazine Price:

Under $10
$10 to $15
$15 to $20
$20 to $25

   $25 to $30
   $30 to $40
   $40 and up
Discount Magazines Subscriptions Make A Great Gift - MagazineLine
Magazine Subscription Deals And Benefits - MagazineLine