Magazineline Homepage
Discount Magazines Make a Great Gift - MagazineLine
Customer Service
About MagazineLine


The Nation Magazine

Filled with unique news coverage, lively editorials and in-depth political analysis

47 Issues
Our Price: $36.00
BuyBuy as Gift

All customer reviews for The Nation Magazine



Average Customer Rating:

5 Star Rating
Write a ReviewGo Back



5 Star ReviewThe Nation should be required reading for all voters in America.
A review of The Nation Magazine, March 3, 2013
Submitted by: egrant from La Conner, WA

     There are reasons why The Nation is our nation's oldest weekly magazine.  It has been shining a spotlight on the truth and not spinning the latest "talking points" from the corporate controlled echo chamber since the end of the Civil War. This is essential reading for anyone who either plans on being stranded on a deserted island or knows the difference between federalism and feudalism.  So please subscribe before their Trickle Down lies makes peons of us all.



5 Star ReviewThe best Political magazine
A review of The Nation Magazine, February 7, 2013
Submitted by: Jon from Humansville, mo

This magazine has alittle of everything that I enjoy reading. It is very educational also.



5 Star ReviewThe best political analysis magazine
A review of The Nation Magazine, November 3, 2012
Submitted by: RMAziminia from Rodeo, CA

I had subscribed to this magazine in the past and I am happy that have subcribed to it again. It provide me with a left of center analysis that I find informational.



5 Star ReviewSuch informative articles!
A review of The Nation Magazine, November 1, 2012
Submitted by: Shan from Hixson, TN

I really am enjoying the wealth of information on political subjects.  The articles are timely and well written, and it is great to have a magazine for us progressives!



5 Star ReviewThe best of the best
A review of The Nation Magazine, September 6, 2012
Submitted by: Sunshine from Ypsilanti, MI

I really enjoy reading thr Nation magazine. The articles are written very well by writers I like from other venues. The atricles have alot of very good and thoughtful information in them. The articles are also very easy to read.



5 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, August 6, 2012
Submitted by: rblument

I am so impressed with the writing and the knowledge of the authors of the articles in the Nation.  The magazine is actually less "radicalized" and much more rationally based than I had thought.  It is definitely a progressive publication, with all articles written from a leftist perspective.  But the articles are extremely well-researched and extremely well-written.



5 Star ReviewThis magazine gives politics in depth
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 5, 2012
Submitted by: none from Encinitas, CA

I respect Chris Hayes and his opinions.

He is knowledgable, well read and has the facts.

I enjoy the depth of research that goes into these articles and they help me understand what is going on in the world 



3 Star ReviewThe Nation: not for everyone
A review of The Nation Magazine, May 29, 2012
Submitted by: lauragoet

Perhaps I have gotten accustomed to the Time and Newsweek format of short, snappy reviews, including some in-depth articles. The Nation seems to be all "in depth" and that is great for those interested. The result is long articles which often go into areas which seem to be of interest to the author and a select group of individuals. The layout/ format is not very current. Were I the editor, I would think seriously about some middle road, where selected articles of particular nation wide interest/concern are explored in-depth, with brief counter points included after the article. Other items, of less national concern/interest, would receive a much briefer treatment. The result would be a more readable magazine which would touch more areas of significance by not giving equal weight to everything.



5 Star ReviewGreat informative news!!
A review of The Nation Magazine, February 21, 2012
Submitted by: John from Missoula, MT

The magazine is great.  The articles are well written and include a perspective that is not included in the mainstream media.  There is little to no advertising, which leaves more room for actual reporting and investigative research.



5 Star ReviewTruth in politics
A review of The Nation Magazine, February 7, 2012
Submitted by: Brando from Providence, RI

The nation is one of the few news sources you can trust.



4 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 6, 2011
Submitted by: brewster

It is good to read articles that are not spun by the corporate media.  Your magazine gives me a much better understanding of what is really going on with our government in Washington and around the world.



5 Star ReviewThis magazine is very informative
A review of The Nation Magazine, November 29, 2011
Submitted by: phar13 from Cathedral City, CA

The Nation magazine is a very informative magazine that keeps me up to date on the political issues, that are going on in Washington, and around the United States. In addition, I like the editorials that are written in the magazine.



5 Star ReviewA good antidote to the conservative jabber
A review of The Nation Magazine, November 29, 2011
Submitted by: Lizzie

Too often the conservative columns and analytical pieces I have read are so partisan that I feel as if the facts are a bit twisted (Charles Krauthammer being a case in point---someone who seems never to be able to grant credit or praise to any liberal or progressive ideas). Obviously, The Nation has it's point of view, liberal, to be sure, but I feel as if the facts are accurate---this judging from the other sources I check for accuracy---and that the contributing writers are thoughtful, insightful, and eloquent.



5 Star Reviewthis is the most needed magazine
A review of The Nation Magazine, October 12, 2011
Submitted by: daveonlincoln from las vegas, nm

A mag that totally fits the requirements of our turbulent times.



5 Star ReviewIn the finest tradition of investigative journalism
A review of The Nation Magazine, August 3, 2011
Submitted by: Old Lefty from Washington, DC

The Nation continues to uncover important stories on major topics.  Well written and informative.



5 Star ReviewLook forward to the next issue
A review of The Nation Magazine, August 2, 2011
Submitted by: bonrich from Stevens Point, WI

We are new subscribers to "the Nation" magazine. I purchased it as a Father's Day gift for Richie but found that I enjoy reading it as much as he does.  We both look forward to next issue.  It is so informative and with politics as they are today, this magazine gives us an "inside" view of what's happening.



5 Star ReviewThought Provoking
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 4, 2011
Submitted by: Jo

This newsworthy magazine covers more than the MSM can ever accomplish. The ads are few and the variety of articles are great. It covers both political and non-political venues, book reviews and the like.

Keep up the great work publishing eye opening articles that I know I won't be hearing about anytime soon on the telly.



5 Star ReviewNation magazine tells it like it is!
A review of The Nation Magazine, June 28, 2011
Submitted by: June from Lincoln, NE

We only prescribed to this magazine for a short time but it was full of information about the National elections.  We knew who was, what ticket  he was  running on  and why, what he wanted to achieve and why.  They didn't just tell you something and leave it.  They supported what they said.  I appreciated the insight they gave. I felt ready to vote at election time.



5 Star ReviewGreat political overviews.
A review of The Nation Magazine, June 10, 2011
Submitted by: Emily from Memphis, Tn

This magazine is one of the best resources for intelligent political thought. It doesn't aspire to be "fair and balanced", but then again neither does "Fixed Noise" network.



5 Star Review"The flagship of the Left"
A review of The Nation Magazine, June 7, 2011
Submitted by: Sam

This is the only news magazine that takes a critical look at everyone in the political establishment. It is a leftist publication, but not aligned with the Democratic Party. There is some great investigative journalism and commentary about current events.



5 Star ReviewStaying Informed
A review of The Nation Magazine, June 7, 2011
Submitted by: Jo from Northwest, PA

This is a wonderful publication that covers a variety of topics. It gets to the meat of the matter, revealing much of what the mainstream media leaves out.

I will be renewing my subscription when it's time to renew.....



5 Star ReviewInteresting reading and perspectives...
A review of The Nation Magazine, May 24, 2011
Submitted by: Al from Benton, TN

In The Nation I've found people and topics covered that have not appeared in any of my other magazines. The articles are detailed and insightful.



5 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, September 7, 2010
Submitted by: rblument

I used to think that this was just another "left-wing rag."  I have been very impressed with the excellent writing and the lack of bloviating that we see in political discourse these days.  They just recently added Patricia Harris-Lacewell to their staff, one of the most sensible and intelligent people writing, speaking and teaching about the issue of racism as we experience it today.



4 Star ReviewNot a bad read
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 27, 2010
Submitted by: Jimmy from Worcester, MA

THE NATION has been around for a while. So, I figured those responsible for its publication were doing a few things right.

The subscription is a gift from my mother. She's career academic so she always stressed reading and literacy.

Thanks StudentMags!



5 Star Reviewthe must read magazine
A review of The Nation Magazine, June 22, 2010
Submitted by: Mike from Seattle, WA



5 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, October 13, 2009
Submitted by: Kathy

Excellent to the point magazine. Great resource for the current political scene.



5 Star ReviewThe truth behind poltics
A review of The Nation Magazine, September 11, 2009
Submitted by: Wednesday's Child

Great political journalism in this magazine with few pages of advertisements.



5 Star ReviewExcellent essays on current events.
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 21, 2009
Submitted by: Gadfly from Castro Valley, CA

The Nation offers terrific essays on issues and events of the day from a liberal point of view, most of the time presenting views that can't be found in the main-stream media (except for Bill Moyers and Keith Olberman).  But even Olberman rants and yells instead of presenting well-thought out ideas.  The rational, secular, green, tolerant left, which I believe this magazine appeals to, is a valid and desirable position to have politically in light of the extreme right wing in this country, as represented by Sarah Palin and her ilk.  Thank you.



5 Star ReviewThe Nation Fills an Important Need
A review of The Nation Magazine, June 10, 2009
Submitted by: Peter G

The Nation has excellent features from the center and the center-liberal areas of political opinion. I may not agree with everything they say. But I still enjoy reading it and I find it informative and thought-provoking. I love how small it is. How it fits in your hand. Katha Pollitt: Now she is a real, real, real, really real person.



5 Star ReviewGood informational Mag.
A review of The Nation Magazine, January 12, 2009
Submitted by: Mardi from Aurora, Il

The Nation gives us great info on so many current issues.  It also addresses different topics that other magazines miss.



5 Star ReviewThink!
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 16, 2008
Submitted by: Muji from Omaha, NE

The Nation is an excellent, progressive magazine.



4 Star ReviewProgressive perspective
A review of The Nation Magazine, November 11, 2008
Submitted by: Alma from Burlington, VT

I love this magazine because it provides a progressive perspective in terms of where our government is and can go. The political analyses sometimes reflect a bit too much leaning to the left but not excessively so. Articles are fairly short, concise, informative and factually accurate (check out fact check sites to confirm). This magazine is ideal for anyone who wants a brief overview of matters of national interest rather than an in-depth coverage.



5 Star Reviewoutspoken and liberal
A review of The Nation Magazine, November 6, 2008
Submitted by: teacher



5 Star ReviewBest of its kind - ever.
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 29, 2008
Submitted by: Dee from San Clemente, CA

I smiled all day, maybe all week, after reading Cockburn's article on St. Tiim. Ffinally someone had heard the same tragically unchallenging interviews I'd heard and wasn't afraid to say so. It is possible to like a person yet disapprove of his/her inability to speak out when the time is right. Articles in the Nation rescue us from the TV pap of what is still - for obscure reasons - called "the news" but is tabloid. "News" is now guessing games and sad attempts to stir up interest by a deliberate twisting of words by the presidential contenders and their staff's.
The Nation should be mandatory reading in every high school and every political science, history, and journalism class taught.  .

 



1 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 16, 2008
Submitted by: joe bob

boring



5 Star ReviewBest in class
A review of The Nation Magazine, June 3, 2008
Submitted by: Patrick from lincoln, ne

The Nation is one of the best magazines dealing with politics and current affairs on the market. 

Balanced, no holds barred reporting, gives information that somehow doesn't make it to the mainstream media.

 There is a reason this magazine is the oldest magazine in the country! 



2 Star ReviewSome one else's Nation
A review of The Nation Magazine, May 5, 2008
Submitted by: Mogadad from Mogadore, Oh

What planet do these wacko's live on? Unfortunately the same one as me.



5 Star ReviewRefreshing...I have learned a lot from this pub.
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 18, 2007
Submitted by: Jen from Coronado, CA

I subscribed to the Nation  as a gift for my husband who cares deeply about  politics.  We both hold postgrad degrees and often feel completely unable to relate to the "masses" catered to by Fox News.    If you appreciate thoughtful and factually accurate reporting on the important political issues of our time, you will get it here.  I don't think there's much out there that compares, maybe the Economist.



5 Star ReviewThe Nation rocks!
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: Furthie

The Nat ion should be required reading for our idea-impaired, well, "nation." 



5 Star ReviewTHE BEST!
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 11, 2007
Submitted by: DJ from Hillsdale, MI

All the news and hard hitting opinion that never makes it to the mainstream media!  I would still be an ignorant git if it wasn't for The Nation.  Worth every penny!



5 Star Reviewtruth in print
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Tallyho from sottsdale, az

You guys tell it as it is or purhaps how it should be totd.  In this day and  age ,the truth is hard to come by especially from the media who seem  to have no clear voice other than from the appointed administration and corperate interests



5 Star Reviewvery informative
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: greg from great cacapon, wv

''The Nation" magazine has articles that tell it like it is. The writers do not hold back because of some agenda or person telling them what they can write etc.

There have been many articles with stories that will make you mad, other stories will make you cry.

We are fortunate to have such a magazine to tell us exactly what is being withheld from us by either by  the present administration or a particular magazine owner who has his own agenda and voice

 



5 Star ReviewThis is one of the best magazine about current affairs
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: mesalina07 from Bowling Green, OH

I strongly recommend this magazine. The articles are very well written. The given information is very clear and objective. One can easily get informed about politics and current affairs.



4 Star ReviewThis is the best magazine for the liberal approach to politics
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Ginny from San Juan Capistrano, Ca

The Nation gives pause for thinking about political news from a view point not usually found in newspapers or on TV.  Being of liberal bent myself, it is quite refreshing to find the kind of thinking often expressed here. I do find it a bit "deep" sometimes and I need to reread often.  The articles are well written wih intelligent thoughtfulness .  I learn  from each reading. 

 



5 Star ReviewMost informative of any publication related to national issues
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Hal from Vancouver, WA

This is the only national news and views type publication that I read read from cover to cover. I don't necessarily agree with all that is written, but I'll settle for "most".



5 Star ReviewBest of the Left
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Dan Dare

Insightful, timely & extremely well-written/edited articles and editorials from thoughtful liberals.  Not objective, but truthful.  A valuable arrow in the quiver of an informed American.  I wish everyone would read it--especially those who disagree.

 

 



4 Star ReviewThis magazine is must reading for the liberal
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Pittsburgh reader from Pittsburgh, PA

The Nation is a valuable source of information about politics and contemporary culture.  It presents the liberal point of view and helps to counter the plethora of conservative opinions available elsewhere.



5 Star ReviewBest magazine for truth in politics on the market.
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 10, 2007
Submitted by: Nancy from North Chelmsford, MA

I love The Nation.  In my opinion it is the best publication for political insight into candidates for elections, cronyism, ties to big business/lobbyists, and challenges the lies perpetrated by media, government and corporate elitists with poor social and politically honest records.   Mainstream media does nothing to inform the public about the real issues confronting the nation.  That's why it is imperative people have access to news issues presented by independent investigative journalists, such as The Nation.  The fact that The Nation is a weekly publication is also a big deal for me.  Other independent publications are good, but are only available on a monthly or bi-monthly basis.  I am impressed by the journalists who so often write for The Nation.  They are outstanding, reliable, informative, and the writers speak truth to power.   The Nation presents issues that truly do inform the public, making it possible for me to make informed decisions on social/political issues.  That is why I love and rely on The Nation and look forward to each and every issue.  



5 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, December 7, 2007
Submitted by: p9alper from St. Paul, MN

"No one owns The Nation"

One of the very few magazines worth reading.  There is "dense" reporting and commentary without the glitz and ads which permeate other magazines.

Paul Alper



5 Star Reviewessential reading for the progressive political mind
A review of The Nation Magazine, August 21, 2007
Submitted by: Rob from Concord, NH

The only magazine that matters.  Get outraged here, get involved out there.



5 Star ReviewHonest, intelligent, caring-- this is the best news magazine in America
A review of The Nation Magazine, August 21, 2007
Submitted by: Crying from the Wilderness from Tacoma, WA

This magazine can be trusted to get underneath the headlines and tell us not just what is happening but why, It has predicted what the Bush administration would do with uncanny accuracy-- it knew and showed us that Iraq as well as the rest of the Bush foreigh policy would be disasters, and I fear it is also right about the terrible things that await us from the Bush economy, Bush's scuttling of the US Constitution, and Bush's actions against the environment..  It has predicted that this would be the worst administration in history-- and, unfortunately, events have proven it correct.

If you want to know what is coming, read The Nation. And then be very afraid.



5 Star ReviewA responsible magazine with a New Deal perspective
A review of The Nation Magazine, August 20, 2007
Submitted by: anatole from Madison, WI

With the acquisition of the "standard" press by representatives of the currently fashionable economic and political establishment (e.g. Rupert Murdoch), it becomes ever harder for survivors of the Great Depression to read "mainsteam" reporting that is not in the hands of the forces that have, over the past 50 years, undone most of the important reforms and advances of the New Deal.  Even sources as nominally impartial as public broadcasting expound opinions from as far left as Nelson Rockefeller to as far right as Norman Podhoretz.  The reclaiming of the optimistc and productive views and practices introduced by the administration of Franklin Roosevelt were largely erased under the leadership of men like Robert Taft and Ronald Reagan.  Into this vacuum have sprung a number of activist journals, of which the most authoritative is The Nation.  People who want social and economic analysis that is not formed in the image of Milton Friedman can find a reliable source in The Nation.

 



5 Star Reviewbest political magazine out there: tells it like it is!
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 23, 2007
Submitted by: Rob

If you read one source for politics, this should be it.



5 Star ReviewAll the News that Others Won't Print
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: Fred from West Chester, PA

I have read The Nation since 1986.  My favorite source of political news and opinion, since it often tells me things that I have not read elsewhere.  I don't agree with everything in its pages, but it consistently covers stories which most others won't touch.  "Independent" in the best sense of the word.



5 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: ex-marine from palos heights, il

Your magazine tells me first hand what I don't get from MSM and/or tthe white house news conf.



5 Star ReviewNation is the Best political magazine
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: Vic

The Nation is very simply the best, most insightful magazine of political and cultural thought. They truthfully tell it like it is with a liberal viewpoint. Thoughtful reviews of art films and political literature round out a national treasure.



5 Star ReviewFor Real news...
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 13, 2007
Submitted by: blahblah from teaneck, NJ

In the ever increasing "dumbing down" of modern media, The Nation offers a much needed respite. With corporate conglomerates controling "news" that is increasingly conservative and media centered, The NATION offers the reader the opportunity to hear "the other side" of the issue. In-depth analysis, well-researched non-fiction, book reviews and movie reviews, who could ask for anything more? Well worth the cost to have for years and years!



5 Star ReviewA great alternative source of news and opinion
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Barryt128 from Langhorne, PA

The Nation  has consistently offered an alternative perspective to what you find in the mainstream media. The writers rely on solid research  and raise important questions about what we hear and read in the regular newspapers and TV news shows. 



5 Star ReviewGreat political magazine!
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: lachicuela

This mazagine is a must-read for anyone who refuses to watch Fox news, who likes the alternative vision presented by John Stewart and Stephen Colbert, and who actually seeks information and a perspective about the world outside of Paris Hilton and Brittany.

Articles range the cambit from the military contractor, Blackwater, and feminists' distaste for Hilary Clinton, to perspectives on the US relationship with Russia and with Latin America.

Great writing with a high-brow New-York-y feel!



5 Star ReviewHere the other side of the story.
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: jimbo from TN

Most media are middle-of-the road and hate to criticize those currently in power, left or right. Much of the media are right-of-center and always critcize the left. The Nation is left-of-center, but tries to be fair to even those they disagree with. This viewpoint and this civility is uncommon in today's world.



4 Star Review
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: jim from atlanta, ga

i like the book reviews. I think that they are some of the better ones out there. Have discovered alot of good reading



5 Star ReviewIndispensable journalism
A review of The Nation Magazine, July 12, 2007
Submitted by: Kathy from Binghamton, NY

I I have been a Nation reader for 25 years. It is the weekly that introduced me to true, alternative investigative journalism and opinion. The Nation is over 130 years old, and its reputation has never faltered among liberal and deep thinkers.

I find The Nation must reading, indispenable.

Write a ReviewBack to TopGo Back
Find a magazine fast!
  Quick Magazine Search:

Hot Magazine Categories   All Magazine Categories

Special Magazine Deals

New Magazines

Gift Giving:

Magazine Gift Ideas

Magazine Gift Certificates

Free Gift Cards

Search Alphabetically:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N
O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
  All Magazines

Search by Discount Magazine Price:

Under $10
$10 to $15
$15 to $20
$20 to $25

   $25 to $30
   $30 to $40
   $40 and up
Discount Magazines Subscriptions Make A Great Gift - MagazineLine
Magazine Subscription Deals And Benefits - MagazineLine